Mango Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I made this but had to make some alterations because I only had 1 mango, no simple syrup and not enough lime juice. I used 2 bananas to make up for some of the missing mango, as another member suggested...and I used 3/4 cup light corn syrup, as suggested by another member, instead of simple syrup because I didn't have enough sugar to make simple syrup. And I only had 2 tablespoons of fresh lime juice. But it still worked fine because this was delicious! I can't wait to experiment with other fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Made this with very ripe mangoes - halved the recipe and followed directions to a T: really nice colour, nice taste, although a bit too sweet to be really refreshing. However, the reason for only 3 stars, is the sorbet was solid ice block. In order to serve I have set the dish out on the counter for it to thaw out some. Next time I will cut down on the syrup and add some cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Great recipe - first one I made on my ice cream maker (which I've had for several years!) and was motivated due to the simple ingredients and great reviews. If you don't have super ripe mangoes (as in my case), cube the mangoes ahead of time and let them macerate in their juices to increase the sweetness and flavour. Served it to guests to rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is a great way to A. Use mangos & B. eat something that is a healthy alternative to ice cream. I made this for my wife and I and it received big thumbs up. For those of you watching what you eat this can be an excellent end to a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rubyduck75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I wanted to cut the sugar so I used very ripe mangos and for the simple syrup used only 1/2 cup water, with 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup Splenda (packets - not granules) it came out perfect. All you taste is the fabulous mango flavor. I also took the suggestion of another review and put in the zest of the lime while boiling the water, but just one lime not 2. This is a great, simple recipe - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Very enjoyable. Wonderful when you need to use up mangos that are getting over ripe. These give the absolute best flavor. I have made this several times now in my ice cream maker for the kitchenaid stand mixer. It turns out great. I had the same problem as others with quantities - so here's what I did: 1) 2 cups mango flesh, 1/2 cup simple syrup, 2 tbsp sugar, 3 tbsp fresh lime juice, 1/2 tsp lime zest, 1/3 cup heavy cream or yogurt, salt to taste; 2) use a spoon to scrape mango flesh from the skin; 3) puree all, but the sugar in the blender at a high speed for at least 5 minutes; 4) refridgerate batter overnight, puree again with the addition of the sugar before freezing in your machine. Following this procedure really cuts down on the stringiness of the mangos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Was a good start but WAY too much sugar for me. I will lessen the sugar next time but keep the rest of the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Delicious! Like summer in a bowl. Great mango flavor and beautiful color. I doubled the recipe and added a little extra lime juice. Would be fabulous with a sprig of mint and lime wedge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
this recipe was great! And it was very easy. The ending result of the sorbet was quite soft so I chilled it overnight and it came out fantastic! I only had one mango so I added 2 bananas to replace the other two mangoes. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Perfect! Wonderful recipe that is so much better than any mango sorbet I've tasted in a shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cboz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States