Mango Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
My husband absolutly loved them! However I cut out the Nutmeg, and used Spelt flour instead of white flour-eek! ANd maple syrup instead of sugar. They were delicious and a little healthier and much tastier than origonal recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Absolutely the tastiest things I've ever had that didn't come out of a bakery or a cafe! :9 I loved them, my boyfriend loved them, and so did our friends! Especially good with vanilla ice cream. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Wow! Very rich, wonderful taste. Gave some to my neighbor and she immediately wanted the recipe, as did her daughter. My only change was to substitute whole wheat flour for one of the three cups of all purpose, and I used cardamom instead of cinnamon. Slicing fresh mango is a messy affair (I used 3 large ones), so next time I may use canned mango (find it at an asian food mkt. or in the ethnic aisle at the store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Aloha, This is an absolutely wonderful, scruptious, easy - just plain yum. I bought fresh Mangos at our local farmers market whipped it up last night. No need to change anything about the recipe. My family loved it, the guys at work went crazy over it! This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I made this and used the suggestion of having only one mango. Someone that doesn't like mangos that much enjoyed this. I have requests to make it again. I also thought about using Peaches next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCD0205

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This recipe was AMAZING!! I loved the sweet taste of the mangoes mixed with the cinnamon!! i made this recipe right before i went to bed and when i got up the next morning it was all gone!! my sister gave out the recipe to all her friends and my anti-fruit dad loved it!!! I will definitely make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Wow, this is much better than I would have ever guessed, even after reading reviews! I substituted ground ginger for nutmeg and I through in a handful of raspberries for color. It is so delicious. I found using a butter wrapper helped with pressing the mixture down into the pan. You have to try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I took it to work (so I wouldn't be tempted to eat it all myself) and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzibear
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My husband thought it tasted like apple cobbler.. but we both LOVED it! I could taste the mango in the thicker slices and they went so well with the cinnamon and nutmeg spices. I'm really happy with this recipe and how it turned out that I'm emailing this link to all of my friends. The only thing I changed was the cook time. I had to pull it out after 50mins to avoid burned edges and covered the edges with foil half way through as I saw the edges darkening quickly. I baked it in a glass dish so I dont know if that had something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Tried the recipe again today. Turned out even better than the first time. I used half of the recipe, like others did, and cut the time shorter by some twenty minutes. Definitely a delicious recipe. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mombasa, Coast, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States