Mango Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
It was great. I only had about 3 cups of mango so I added crushed pineapple (didn't have anything else). Turned out really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Saint George Parish, Dominica
Living In: Morne Daniel, Saint Paul Parish, Dominica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
The crust used in this recipe is so perfect and it can be used in other recipes that call for a crust as well. I've tried many recipes that lacked a good crust but now that I have this recipe, I plan on using it instead. My only change: I added fresh raspberries in with the mango. Eat warm with ice cream to fully appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
The mango is very mild in this recipe. I think that is the nature of Mango when you cook it. The shortbread is moist as opposed to the dry shortbread. I had never had moist shortbread before. this was good but not delicious. However, my mother-in-law loved it because she loves shortbread. I had a hard time getting the shortbread mixture on top of the mango. can't really spread it. I just dropped it on and spread it as best I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
These were good, very unique. I felt the shortbread part was a little dry so next time I would increase sugar or cut back on flour. I used frozen mango which didn't allow for a "sauce" to form, in the future I would thaw them or use fresh. I used cardamom and cinnamon for the spices, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Delicious! The crust tastes like shortbread, but it bakes up more like a cobbler. Not very mango-y (tastes a little like peach cobbler), but still a fantastic dessert - especially served warm over ice cream. I also added a sprinkle of brown sugar and cinnamon to the top, before it went into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I took it to work (so I wouldn't be tempted to eat it all myself) and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Wow, this is much better than I would have ever guessed, even after reading reviews! I substituted ground ginger for nutmeg and I through in a handful of raspberries for color. It is so delicious. I found using a butter wrapper helped with pressing the mixture down into the pan. You have to try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Good. A not-too-sweet dessert. Too mushy when I tried it with canned peaches though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Great shortbread, with a yummy topping. It would work better with peaches, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I didn't like this that much, but it wasn't bad. It does remind me of apple crisp, like another reviewer said, and I prefer the oatmeal topping on crisp desserts. Mine was somewhat sour, as my mango wasn't too ripe, so adding more sugar would've made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States