Mango Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is a hard one for me to rate. I give the shortbread part 5 stars and the filling 3 stars. This is a very good recipe to use up some mangos, but mango used this way is just not for me. I will be using the crust part and trying this with different fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Halved the cinnamon and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
why haven't more people tried this??? it is truly a hidden gem. don't bother reading any reviews that suggest recipe changes. this is perfect AS IS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
used to make it at school, you can use allsorts of fruit really, i used a tin of fruit cocktail, if you use the cinnamon, make it with apple, otherwise leave out the cinnamon or just add to the shortbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is very much like a mango cobbler except softer crust. I like it ok, but I omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg since most reviewers said it made it taste like apple cobbler. This is very easy to cut into bars, and I used 3 different kinds of mangoes. The sweeter,riper ones came out muuuuuch better than the more tart one. If you have tart mangoes, you can add honey instead of white sugar. Again, it was ok tasting, and I'm glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe. I nice combination of traditional baking with a tropical flare. It surprises first time tasters that are expecting apple or peaches. As with most deserts this goes great with ice cream (what doesn't right?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Great flavor !!!! Rich buttery crust !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheffSol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I was disappointed with this recipe. Quite excited to try it as we all love mangos, but it came out very dry and lacking much flavour. Perhaps with some modifications I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I have made this shortbread twice now and it is so delicious. The second time I substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour for 1 cup white flour and enjoyed it even more; warm out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup drizzled over it all! Dealing with the mango can be labor intensive but it is so worth the effort. Like one reviewer before me said, "the riper the mango the better". Definitely one of my favorites from this sight so far. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rita, Santa Rita, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made exactly as directed. I was dissappointed. We love mango, so hated the huge expense and waste of them! I am giving this two stars as it sounds like some did like it, I had 3 guest for dinner and they were not a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States