Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was yummy. I tried to see if I could alter this slightly to make it more like a mango salsa recipe given to me by a Brazilian woman. (I lost the recipe!) I substituted red onions for green and added a dash of white vinegar and some avocado (just because I had one on hand). I also added some garlic powder and salt. Everyone liked it, but to me there was just a tiny something missing, and I couldn't quite put my finger on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This recipe is the best! I'd never had mango salsa before, and I must say this is a favorite for me now. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe because it's perfect! I do use mango from a jar to make it easier. I served it with the Jamaican Jerked Chicken and caribbean sweet potato salad recipes from this site and it goes perfectly together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Awesome! This is the first time I used mangoes but it turned out great. Make sure you get really ripe mangoes. I learned that they should be soft and give to the touch. I used the salsa as a topping for bruschetta. I sliced frech bread and brushed the slices with extra virgin olive oil then baked for about 10-15 minutes at 350. The I topped the bread with the salsa. I ommitted the jalepenos because I was concerned it would be too much heat. The green onions took care of that. I plan to cook with the left over salsa. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This is fabulous! I tried it on fish as suggested but it was cold on hot fish so it was just OK. However, as a dip with blue tortilla chips, there's none better!!! Have already made twice and plan to make m ore tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Great recipe, but I found that it benefited from some chopped white onion for a little extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Delicous.....Only modification I made is I only used 1/2 jalapenso otherwise everything was the same. I served this with "My Crab Cakes" by Rod Mowery. I received raves from my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Made this tonight for my Aunt and Uncle from Los Angeles. They absolutely loved it and immediately asked for the recipe. Went extremely well with Shish Kebabs and jasmine rice. Excellent recipe.... only thing I did extra was squeeze the juice out of the pit as recommended in another review. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
we thought it was fantastic as a side with jays jerk chicken recipe, be careful with the peppers,too much heat will overpower everything .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Very good. It would have been better if my mango was a bit riper. Goes wel1 with fish or alone on a chip. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori VE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
very good as the recipe describes. The second and third times I made it I added more pepper to heat it up and once I added sliced avacado and knocked back on the cilantro a bit. Good either way, especially with fish tacos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKBRECK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States