Mango, Peach and Pineapple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Beautiful, healthy & tasty. For the dressing, I shake the following together in a medium sized glass jar: garlic, lime juice, & salt in the amounts as written plus 3/4 c pineapple juice (instead of water), 1-2 T sugar (instead of 2T), 1/4 tsp ground black pepper, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, & 1 T olive oil. I let the dressing sit for 5-10 minutes to let the flavors mingle, then shake again and pour over the salsa. This would be fantastic in August with fresh, local peaches. Right now I used canned, drained peaches and pineapple (save the juice for the dressing), and it is a great, change-of-pace salsa for chips or with grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I make this all the time and it is definitely time consuming! Recently, I acquired a Ninja system and that has helped cut down on how long I spend chopping. Try to stick with fresh fruit and vegetables if you can! Or if you prefer canned tomatoes, get sodium/HFCS free. Sometimes canned tomatoes can taste... well... tinny. Also, I normally add a load of jalapeno but somehow forgot to put that on the recipe when I posted this. Serrano peppers work equally as well. Sub in a walla wall or vidalia onion for extra natural sweetness. The water is there to simply allow the flavors to all meld together. However, if your produce is really juicy you won't need it. So, you be the judge. If you don't have peaches, nectarines are awesome here!. A lot of people have said that this makes a lot and it does! However, at family functions I use the ENTIRE pineapple and an extra mango with about twice as much cilantro and twice the onion to make enough. It never lasts. Try it on your next fish tacos or blend some with a bit of olive oil and red wine vinegar to make a healthy salad dressing. (Goes great on grilled chicken too and I recently made this as a topping for el pastor).. HELPFUL HINT-- A little extra sugar and a bit of extra salt will up the flavor and help pull the juices out of the fruit if you don't have time to let this sit. Stir it a couple times an hour and press the fruit down into the juice. Seems silly, but it works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Very good; might add black beans or garbanzo beans next time and a few jalapeno...but very good flavor! Tested no co-workers and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
There was a LOT of dicing involved in making this. I hadn't noticed that it's set for 16 people. However, it was so YUMMY that even though there were only five of us eating it (one of which usually doesn't even like salsa), it was eaten until both big bags of chips were gone...and people we taking the little crumbs and scooping up what they could, lol. A big hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Wonderful dish!!! I used canned diced tomatoes, pineapple tidbits and a jalapeno for each batch. We canned it..Boil it for 10 minutes then put in jars..Put in a water bath for 15 minutes. A new favorite in my home!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Wonderful salsa! I did take others advice and halved the amount of cilantro and I also only used about 1/2 cup of water because the mangos were very juicy. A lot of chopping but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This salsa recipe was great, only I tweaked it a touch. I used small or roma tomatoes, so I probably tripled or quadrupled the number of tomatoes, the fruit was so sweet, I probably could have eliminated the sugar, but cut it down to 1Tbs., and I felt it needed a little more spice, so I added 1/4 cup chopped jalepenos from a jar-chopped into tiny pieces; which made it about a medium heat wise. I'm going to try freezing this, would like to can some if anyone has any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nchris01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was a real hit with my party. I added a cup or so of rinsed/drained black beans from a can. I first served it over Jerk Chicken breast. Then I pureed the leftovers in a blender with some more Jalepenos to use with Tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
DELICIOUS! I made this for a bridal shower and all the guests loved it. We are sending a copy in the thank you notes :) All I added was a little hot sauce to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I agree with the others that mentioned how they disliked the cilantro. This recipe calls for WAY TOO MUCH of it. I think it is safe to say that the cilantro ruined what otherwise would have been a really good salsa. This recipe is good enough to make again, but next time I'll definitely keep the cilantro to a bare minimum. I wouldn't get rid of it completely because the cilantro does add flavor and kick to it, but because it is such a strong herb, the MOST I'll add next time is 1/5 cup, probably less. I put the salsa over some salmon but I liked the salmon better without the salsa. Maybe the excessive amount of cilantro steered me away. It may have otherwise been really good. Keep note that this recipe is set to yield 16 servings, which I didn't realize until after I had made it. It makes a lot. I also added only half an onion and I'm glad I did, especially because I'm not a big fan of using lots of onion. A small amount is okay, but I think a whole onion would have been too much Tomorrow I plan on making the same recipe (but this time not using any cilantro) and adding it to what I currently have to weaken the intensity of the cilantro. My advice is that if you're not sure about using the large amounts of a particular food that this recipe calls for (such as onion or cilantro), use only half of what the recipe calls for. See how you like it. If you think it needs more, add more. Be careful because once you add too much, there's no getting it out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States