Mango-Lime Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I rarely if EVER rate recipes horribly low, but this recipe needs some SERIOUS flavour. It's quick enough to make but needs some spices/herbs to make it pop. It was extremely bland. I would also disagree w/ cubing the mango. I think a rough chop is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This recipie was very bland I had to add a ton of extra lime just to get any flavor. Also the mango just didn't seem to go... Will probably not be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annelisewright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I wanted to like this recipe much more than I actually did. It wasn't bad and I will probably try making it again, but it was missing something. I did use white rice because that is all I had on hand. It was a little dry...I think next time I will add more lime juice and hopefully that will compensate for the "missing" ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I added some cooked turkey and chicken stock plus an extra mango. I also added another tbsp. of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Pretty good. The mango I had on hand was a bit over ripe, so the rice was a bit stringy. But I really liked the flavor of the rice. A nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I was disappointed that I couldn't find a mango in any of my grocery stores. I had to use a can of tropical fruit. It was good but my family didn't like some of the fruit. I liked it but made the mistake of stirring in the fruit and letting it sit. I should have known better it made the fruit warm. I used dried cilantro which I added in the beginning so it could simmer. I think it also needed more lime juice. Also, I will probably try it again with white rice. I can't get my family to like brown rice. Overall I think it is a refreshing change for a side dish. I am definitely going to make it again and hopefully find some mango!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Good. Next time I will add more mango. Mother loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This rice was good. Not great. I made it with Jasmine rice - but that was the only change. Could have used a little more lime juice to enhance the lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Very good! I'm not a big fan of brown rice, but have been trying to find ways to incorporate it into our diet. This was definitely a perfect match to the Grilled Fish Tacos. Thanks! Oh, I also through in a chicken boullion cube when cooking the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States