Mango Lassi-Come-Home Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ellen Crow
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is my recipe, and I just want to add a few notes here. This is a sweet, smoothie-like lassi. If you prefer your drink a little less sweet, you can reduce the honey or use plain yogurt in place of the vanilla yogurt. If you have trouble finding lemon yogurt in your area, use plain yogurt and add 1 or 2 tablespoons of frozen lemonade concentrate. Also, I used canned sliced mango and just added the intact pieces to the blender. It isn't really necessary to puree them first; it just makes it easier to measure. A final note: as I submitted it, the recipe says serve chilled; I personally think it tastes better cold. Enjoy! (I was just going to add this comment without rating it, but it won't allow me to do that, so, 5 stars, LOL!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This recipe is excellent! I read ElectRicity's note and followed her advice, I only used organic fat free plain yogurt and added lemonade concentrate, I omitted honey and used frozen mangoes instead of canned because that's what I had. I was skeptical of the Cardamom but it gives a really nice flavor. I will be making this again, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Fabulous! Since I didn't have any flavored yogurt, I followed the submitter's suggestion and used plain yogurt with a tbsp. of frozen lemonade concentrate. Silly me, only had PINK lemonade concentrate on hand, but it worked and I was happy to find out it did not alter the color of the drink at all! The mango, lemon and cardamom combination is just delicious - will make this one again and again! Thanks, *eclectRicity*!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
My daughter and I are smacking our lips together as I type this. So delicious and filling. I had both the lemon and vanilla yogurts on hand, used 3 whole ripe mangos, but I didn't have any of the mango nectar. Instead I did use a bit of orange juice concentrate. Very tasty little mid-day break. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Yum! I loved the touch of cardamom in this. I also like the bite of plain yogurt, so I did use the submitter's suggestion regarding that, and topped this with chopped mango and mint. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Love It!! I used fresh mango, plain fat free Greek yogurt, mango nectar, lemon juice and honey. The cardamom took it from very good to WOW! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was really different... my hubby is indian, and the way we did it was half greek style plain yogurt, and the other half a can of mango pulp, and some honey and ice. that was it. but this way had such a sweeter taste... i like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
this was wonderful!! exactly like remember it. be prepared, this makes a very large qty. i would recommend placing the can of mango puree and mango nectar in the fridge prior to making this so that your drink is cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azurerae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Even without cardamom, this lassi recipe makes a great drink that's perfect for sipping along with dinner, or for savoring on its own as dessert. Because I already had plain yogurt in the house for other recipes, I whipped up substitutes for the lemon yogurt and vanilla yogurt -- I mixed lemon juice and sugar into two cups of plain yogurt, and vanilla extract and sugar into the other cup of yogurt. It worked great! I also used a whole mango and just tossed it into the blender in chunks instead of pureeing it, and while that meant my lassi wasn't perfectly smooth, the texture was actually really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was the perfect consistency (thick!) but the flavor was off. Next time I won't use the lemon-flavored yogurt--will try using only vanilla or maybe even plain. Great potential, just not quite right as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

How to Cut a Mango

Watch how to easily peel, slice, and dice mangos for salads, salsas, and kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States