Mango Hawaiian Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was a pretty good recipe besides the fact that you left out the vanilla. But I think the orange was a little faint. I am going to try adding in pineapple juice with the mango and see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
If I could give it more stars, I would. These are AMAZING. I made some adjustments too. I ommitted the cranberries, I used dried mango, dried pineapple, and some trail mix bag I found that contains papaya, bananas, mango, raisins and shaved coconut.....mixing all of these together in the orange juice. I changed the oven setting to 350 and baked for 12 minutes (gas stove). West coast of Florida elevation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I read here that somebody exchanged the shortening for applesauce - so, I decided to try exchanging it for pureed mango. I added a little bit of coconut oil, as well. BEAUTIFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Very very good. Made for a Hawaiian themed party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Not worth the work! Unfortunately, these were a lot of work and nobody enjoyed them. They were very cakey and the mango flavor just didn't come through. We will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Not bad at all. I subbed 1/2 cup applesauce for the shortening -- texture was perfect -- and reduced the white sugar to 1/4 cup (next time, I might reduce the brown sugar instead, to 1/2 cup, since I feel like a mango cookie should be a little lighter-colored than these turned out). Also doubled the mango, and left out the nuts and cranberries; next time I might add even more mango, since the bites that didn't have any were not terribly interesting. Finally, like other reviewers, I had to bake for 15-16 minutes, even though my cookies were small enough that I got about 4.5 dozen out of the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Yummy! And good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Delicious! I left out the cranberries and doubled the mango though. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
The base for the cookie is pretty good, although I don't know that I would use Crisco again. I thought the macademia nuts kinda tasted like peanuts, which made them seem a little wasted to me, since eating them plain tastes very little like peanuts. I couldn't really taste the mango. I think these cookies are a lot like the chewy coconut cookies, only with more work. As I said, the base to the cookie is very good, but I would tend to leave out everything but the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I thought these were great cookies! I used a bag of dried mango/pineapple/papaya that i had left over from something else, in place of just the mango and i did not use dried cranberries. They were really good. I needed to cook them more about 16 min than 10 min but not a big deal. It takes time to wait for them to cool before you can take them off, so make sure you have time to finish them before an event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States