Mango Frappe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is an amazing recipe I do recommend trying it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I'm sorry I just don't think this is a good recipe. Imho, mango cannot be distinctive when put up against the strong flavor of orange. To me, this tastes almost like plain orange juice, if you were to buy a brand that has added sugar (like Donald Duck brand, which I used to love as a kid lol). I did reduce the lime by half, so the lime was not overpowering. However, the mango flavor still didn't come through. I tasted my mango before I pureed, so I know I had a good one with flavor! This recipe is too much effort for what amounts to sweetened orange juice. I have one mango left; gonna try a smoothie instead. After I tasted the finished recipe I added more ice, thinking that would help. It didn't, but I decided to freeze the whole thing so I'll have a kind of granita or gelato or whatever it's called. Not a total waste, but I definitely won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this exactly as written, except I added a few more pieces of ice. The lime was very overpowering. It tasted like a really sour orange juice drink with really no mango flavor, or any enjoyable flavor at all. None of us liked it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Nice and fresh beverage. The lime is a bit strong, so it wouldn't be a bad idea to cut it down some (perhaps by using a bit more orange juice in its place). Definitely one to repeat for sunny and cloudy days alike. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
great idea for a hot day. As I had no orange juice in the fridge I used: one mango, a lot of ice, juice from half a lemon and lemon flavored water. I love the combination of lemon & mango!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I liked this as a great base. I used fresh mango and 1/4c mango juice because I only had about 1/2C of orange juice. I did cut the lime by half but I crushed the lime and sugar together at the bottom of the glass sort of like a mojito but used lime instead of mint. Instead of club soda I used diet ginger ale. I also added a little Brazilian rum and 1/2 oz of simple sugar. It was a big hit! Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Very limey. My mango tastes a little odd, but I guess that's bc I bought some jarred mango in syrup--what you buy in the refrigerated produce section--and have never had it before. fresh mango is definitely better. But it worked to try it. I agree with Sunny--the lime is very strong, so I'd cut that down. I actually didn't use any ice bc I only have my food processor and I've been told not to use ice in it. I suppose I'll have to get a blender one of these days and try it again. It was good even without the ice. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very good and refreshing! I used seltzer water instead of club soda because I already had some. Next time I will use a little less lime and a lot more ice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States