Mango Frappe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very good and refreshing! I used seltzer water instead of club soda because I already had some. Next time I will use a little less lime and a lot more ice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Very limey. My mango tastes a little odd, but I guess that's bc I bought some jarred mango in syrup--what you buy in the refrigerated produce section--and have never had it before. fresh mango is definitely better. But it worked to try it. I agree with Sunny--the lime is very strong, so I'd cut that down. I actually didn't use any ice bc I only have my food processor and I've been told not to use ice in it. I suppose I'll have to get a blender one of these days and try it again. It was good even without the ice. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I liked this as a great base. I used fresh mango and 1/4c mango juice because I only had about 1/2C of orange juice. I did cut the lime by half but I crushed the lime and sugar together at the bottom of the glass sort of like a mojito but used lime instead of mint. Instead of club soda I used diet ginger ale. I also added a little Brazilian rum and 1/2 oz of simple sugar. It was a big hit! Thanks for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
great idea for a hot day. As I had no orange juice in the fridge I used: one mango, a lot of ice, juice from half a lemon and lemon flavored water. I love the combination of lemon & mango!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Nice and fresh beverage. The lime is a bit strong, so it wouldn't be a bad idea to cut it down some (perhaps by using a bit more orange juice in its place). Definitely one to repeat for sunny and cloudy days alike. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I'm sorry I just don't think this is a good recipe. Imho, mango cannot be distinctive when put up against the strong flavor of orange. To me, this tastes almost like plain orange juice, if you were to buy a brand that has added sugar (like Donald Duck brand, which I used to love as a kid lol). I did reduce the lime by half, so the lime was not overpowering. However, the mango flavor still didn't come through. I tasted my mango before I pureed, so I know I had a good one with flavor! This recipe is too much effort for what amounts to sweetened orange juice. I have one mango left; gonna try a smoothie instead. After I tasted the finished recipe I added more ice, thinking that would help. It didn't, but I decided to freeze the whole thing so I'll have a kind of granita or gelato or whatever it's called. Not a total waste, but I definitely won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is an amazing recipe I do recommend trying it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this exactly as written, except I added a few more pieces of ice. The lime was very overpowering. It tasted like a really sour orange juice drink with really no mango flavor, or any enjoyable flavor at all. None of us liked it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States