Mango Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
Delicious! Quick! Easy! Now I have a use for all those ripe mangos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
After the mango has been pureed with the milk, it and all the other ingredients can be mixed in the pie dish-- a big plus in my tiny kitchen! I used a thick blueglass pie dish and no crust, which makes for a very moist custard. The bit of lime really enhanced the mango. The flavor was a little milder than I was expecting, but still very tasty. Kids might want something sweeter, but this is just the thing for those coffee-and cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
OH Yes, but of course it was superb as any mango dish I have eaten. Simply delightful, the milk and lime juice reminds me of the south american drinks I recently experienced. I love cinnamon so the 1/2 cup cinnamon was a wonderful surprise. Thank you, Mrs. Evelyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Absolutely fabulous. I used a pie pan that was too big, so I had extra filling, which I cooked on the side in a little dish. I'm eating it as I type, and it's not even chilled yet. I love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
so easy in making and tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very yummy. I didn't have and fresh mangos and only one can of canned, so I used a can of papayas as well. I pureed the two together in a food processor after I strained the juice. Personally I would have reduced the cinnamon a bit, but my boyfriend loved it. I also used a graham cracker crust since I don't really like regular pie crust. The custard texture was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
So simple and easy to make - and it tastes delicious! This recipe is a keeper. In case you don't have evaporated milk on hand you can substitue cream or make your own. I reduced about 2/3 cup of 2% milk to the 1/4 cup it called for by simmering it on the stove. Just be sure to stir frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I've made this twice, once with mango's that were a little bland (turned out great). Then the second time was with mango's that had a lot of taste....(turned out horrible). This was a very good recipe with the bland mango's, so I will give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Yum! This is very good. I think next time I may use less cinnamon though because I'd prefer my mango flavor as is. This recipe is a keeper and I will definitely be making it a lot this summer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Photo by LikeAStar
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this yesterday and it was delicious! It's true that baking changes the flavor of the mangoes, but they still shine through and I liked the pie's subtle sweetness. I used Truvia instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States