Mango Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Absolutely fabulous. I used a pie pan that was too big, so I had extra filling, which I cooked on the side in a little dish. I'm eating it as I type, and it's not even chilled yet. I love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I'm surprised at the negative review. I loved this. It is certainly different from the typical mango dishes, but was very tasty. I used mango from a jar and lime juice from a bottle, but it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
After the mango has been pureed with the milk, it and all the other ingredients can be mixed in the pie dish-- a big plus in my tiny kitchen! I used a thick blueglass pie dish and no crust, which makes for a very moist custard. The bit of lime really enhanced the mango. The flavor was a little milder than I was expecting, but still very tasty. Kids might want something sweeter, but this is just the thing for those coffee-and cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
Delicious! Quick! Easy! Now I have a use for all those ripe mangos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
So simple and easy to make - and it tastes delicious! This recipe is a keeper. In case you don't have evaporated milk on hand you can substitue cream or make your own. I reduced about 2/3 cup of 2% milk to the 1/4 cup it called for by simmering it on the stove. Just be sure to stir frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Echo
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Living in the kingdom of fruits, Taiwan, I am lucky to have sweet, fresh, and very good quality of mangos. Since the mango is so fresh, I didn't use any spice and hoped to get the original mango fragrance. Unfortunately the natural flavor and fragrance were gone after baking. The custard became very plain, I have to say. As a result, I topped the pie with more diced fresh mango and it turned out not bad. It's important to keep this pie in the fridge at this hot summer. Or the custard will turn too soft, and the mango will collapse down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Echo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Recipe as written makes enough for two pies. I poured mango puree through a fine mesh strainer to remove fibers. I subbed condensed milk for the canned milk. Really good flavor. Will be making this for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
OH Yes, but of course it was superb as any mango dish I have eaten. Simply delightful, the milk and lime juice reminds me of the south american drinks I recently experienced. I love cinnamon so the 1/2 cup cinnamon was a wonderful surprise. Thank you, Mrs. Evelyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was good. I didn't use a crust (personal preference) and I used 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg because I didn't want the cinnamon to be too overpowering. I found that it didn't set in 30 minutes. It's probably my fault because I used mango pulp from a can. Maybe pulp is thinner than puree. Not sure. I had to keep mine in the oven for close to 50 minutes. I ate it the next day, and I was impressed. I think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I've made this twice, once with mango's that were a little bland (turned out great). Then the second time was with mango's that had a lot of taste....(turned out horrible). This was a very good recipe with the bland mango's, so I will give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States