Mango Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LikeAStar
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this yesterday and it was delicious! It's true that baking changes the flavor of the mangoes, but they still shine through and I liked the pie's subtle sweetness. I used Truvia instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
it was good, but it needed something more. I made it with canned mangos and fresh lime juice, will have to try adding more lime juice to it so it has more taste. otherwise it tasted like a key lime by but with a hint of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Exotic and flavorful, sweet and tangy. It was nearly perfect save for the vague aftertaste of the flour in the custard. Maybe if you cut back on the flour in 3rd step? Otherwise very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Joey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Yum! This is very good. I think next time I may use less cinnamon though because I'd prefer my mango flavor as is. This recipe is a keeper and I will definitely be making it a lot this summer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Photo by Echo
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Living in the kingdom of fruits, Taiwan, I am lucky to have sweet, fresh, and very good quality of mangos. Since the mango is so fresh, I didn't use any spice and hoped to get the original mango fragrance. Unfortunately the natural flavor and fragrance were gone after baking. The custard became very plain, I have to say. As a result, I topped the pie with more diced fresh mango and it turned out not bad. It's important to keep this pie in the fridge at this hot summer. Or the custard will turn too soft, and the mango will collapse down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Echo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was good. I didn't use a crust (personal preference) and I used 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg because I didn't want the cinnamon to be too overpowering. I found that it didn't set in 30 minutes. It's probably my fault because I used mango pulp from a can. Maybe pulp is thinner than puree. Not sure. I had to keep mine in the oven for close to 50 minutes. I ate it the next day, and I was impressed. I think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I've made this twice, once with mango's that were a little bland (turned out great). Then the second time was with mango's that had a lot of taste....(turned out horrible). This was a very good recipe with the bland mango's, so I will give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Recipe as written makes enough for two pies. I poured mango puree through a fine mesh strainer to remove fibers. I subbed condensed milk for the canned milk. Really good flavor. Will be making this for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
So simple and easy to make - and it tastes delicious! This recipe is a keeper. In case you don't have evaporated milk on hand you can substitue cream or make your own. I reduced about 2/3 cup of 2% milk to the 1/4 cup it called for by simmering it on the stove. Just be sure to stir frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was very good. I love Key Lime Pie, so this was a nice tropical twist to one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslisashoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States