Mango Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
i was really disappointed in this recipe. something with the spice combination was not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
If you prefer a thicker, more fruit preserve-like consistency for your chutney, you can modify the cooking method on this excellent recipe and its blend of flavors as I did: Using the 30 serving size recipe, use all ingredients as measured, except: Adjust sugar to 1/2 cup each white and brown, add 1 TBSP butter to your ingredient list, and try 2 TBSPs each white vinegar and lemon juice (vs. 1/4 cup vinegar). For the cooking method: Set saucepan on medium heat (I used a 2.5 quart Le Creuset saucepan, which heats more evenly than any pan I have used, so medium high will be too high). Melt butter, and add dry spices, stirring with a silicone spatula or spoon, 2 mins. til fragrant. Add all other ingredients (except nuts; you will add them at the end). Stir gently until combined. It will take appr. 10 mins. for the mixture to come to a simmer. Once the simmer has begun, set timer for 60 minutes, and cook, maintaining a gentle but consistent simmer (in my saucepan there were 10 pockets of nickel - size bubble groups across the top). Stir gently with spatula every 5 mins. or so. After 60 mins., turn off the heat and let cool in the saucepan. The chutney will be reduced in volume, and will be the consistency of a fruit preserve. Stir in 1/4 cup chopped slivered almonds or macadamia nuts. Store in air tight container, refrigerate, and enjoy! Great on Wasa crackers with cream cheese, or mixed with diced chicken for a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I cut this down to 8 servings to serve alongside some tandoori chicken I made. All in all - it had a nice flavour but the actual mango flavour was lost among all the spiciness. I only added half of the brown sugar called for, and the end result was still very sweet. I think it was good and may make again, but I would reduce the sugar further (probably omit the brown sugar altogether).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
PLEASE, if you scale down the recipe, adjust your cooking time accordingly. Don't make stupid amateur mistakes like me and burn the whole batch. I'm sure it's a good recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Very unappealing color. WAY too sweat for me. We mixed this with chicken broth, vinegar and curry for another recipe I had and it was still too sweat. I think this would go better with a salty ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was wayyyy too sweet! Certainly not something I would eat with chicken! I probably overcooked the sugar, though, that's why I don't give it a one star. But it means this recipe is hard to scale down and not everybody cooks 240 servings at a time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Really tasty, not difficult to make and set beautifully. One large mango made 1/8 quantity. I found the dark colour of the finished chutney set it apart from commercially available chutneys, I may have overcooked the sugar. Next time I will use only white sugar and try not to let it catch for paler results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
FABULOUS!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and served it with the Turkey. It's dark brown color was strange at first but once everyone tried it, it was a HUGE hit. Guests asked to take some home!!! I reduced the recipe to serve 30 but next time I will make a full batch and give it as a gift. This will most likely become a Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Made this chutney several times & it is excellent. Super on grilled salmon. I never have all the ingredients and it always turns out good! Ground ginger works fine, also dry crushed red pepper works (in small amounts). For something different, try adding pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I can't believe how excellent and easy to make this chutney is. This is the perfect compliment to pork. Fantastic...give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States