Mango Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Made this just as recipe was given...except using the jam cycle of my bread maker and downsizing to 30 servings. Ran the jam cycle twice. I had no worrying about burning or watching. Ran two cycles, because I felt the mango was not cooked enough. At the beginning of the second cycle, I also added 1/4 teaspoon of liquid pectin to give the chutney some strength. I love this chutney very much, but family prefer the less spicy commercial brand. I think I could cut the spices in half and still get a great product that might satisfy their tastes too. Nice recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedChowDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sevenoaks, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Excellent on EVERYTHING! On fish, on chicken, on omelets and on toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Davis
Photo by kKallberg
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I followed Kirchy7's suggestions, and it turned out great! 30 servings is roughly 1 pint. 1 regular-sized mango wasn't quite 2 cups, but it worked. I soaked a dried oriental chili, and that worked well (the seeds added a little heat to the chutney). For beginner cooks like me, it's best to prepare all the ingredients before cooking, so as not to delay the cooking process. One tip for cutting mango: slice one big piece along the flat side of the core and cut diagonal lines across the flesh (don't perforate the skin). Flip it so that the skin is concave and the flesh juts out in cubes, then slice the cubes along the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kKallberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I have been looking for a great Mango chutney recipe, now I can stop looking. I downsized the recipe to 60 and used 15 min. for step 1 and step 2 when adding the mango's I cooked them for about 35 mins. After reading everyone's comments, I reduced the sugar to 1 cup of white and 1 cup of brown and added 6 cups of mango. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Way too sweet, overpowered the spices and mango's. Sounded great but ended up looking like taffy. Waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Nice recipe! I loved all the raisins. We ended up adding a little more mango. Next time, I will probably cut back on the onion a little. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was a great recipe. We just made 30 servings. You have to watch the pot while its boiling and stir constantly! I made a few modifications to the recipe.I used more of the mango and I also added two plums and two peaches. I cut out the white sugar and used just the brown and used apple cider vinegar instead of plain vinegar. It turned out great! We put it over jerk pork that evening and used again for breakfast with eggs. We will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARIAN and REBECCA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I like more heat and lime with this recipe, so I added the juice of two limes. I will add a second jalepeno next time, but that's just my taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Excellent!!! I added a pinch more red chile because we like it spicy and used crystallized ginger. Also waterbathed the jars for 15 minutes afterwards so I can give as gifts at Christmas. Very pretty and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I had lots of apricots and came across this recipe, so I replaced the mango with apricots. It is very good. We have used it as a dipping sauce and also as a barbecue sauce for chicken. My husband who doesn't usually like apricots likes this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States