Mango Chutney Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I took this recipe to a cottage weekend with friends. I thought that the mango chutney was way to overpowering(too heavy on the ginger)for this excellent cheese ball. The second night I served it, I put raspberry preserves on one side and honey with pomegranite seeds on the other side to dip in after taking a section of the ball. It was a huge success. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
All my dinner guests just RAVED over this, which perplexed me simply because it was SO easy to make! Normally when using a new recipe, I follow it to the T - why rate something I have modified, right? But I went to FOUR grocery stores and a produce stand and could not find mango chutney. SO I used the cheese ball stand-by, red pepper jelly. The whole mixture was great. Sweetness from the raisins mixed well with the green onions and other ingredients. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This was a hit at a party, and so easy. I had a little trouble finding mango chutney, but finally found it at Trader Joe's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I ordinarily don't go for the cheese balls, preferring to use my calorie allotment elsewhere, but this version was especially delicious. I did make a few changes for my own palate. I used a whole pound of bacon (so much for the calories!!), cooking it until it was very crispy and then breaking it into small bits. After mixing the cream cheese, 1/2 of the cooked bacon, raisins, green onions, and sour cream, I heated the mixture in the microwave until it was a creamy stirring consistency (approx 1 - 1 1/2 minutes). I stirred the mixture well, put in into a covered bowl, and refrigerated it overnight. This seemed to distribute the flavor of the onions and bacon throughout the cheese. Shortly before serving , I removed the mixture from the refrigerator, reheated it slightly so I could stir it again, arranged it on a small plate, and sprinkled more bacon bits and thinly sliced green onion on the top along with a few chopped peanuts. I served it with pita chips and the mango chutney on the side. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I really like this. I used 6 sliced of center cut bacon and would use more the next time. Don't be afraid to up the rest of the ingredients because the cream cheese is such a strong flavor. Made my own mango chutney and served it on the side for those who were skeptical. Everyone who tried it thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Wonderful! Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I used sweet mango chutney, but I think that the hot mango would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I was a bit skeptical at first about the combinations, but All I can say is WOW ! this is so yummy ! My kids love this ! Everyone that tries this loves it. Thank you for the great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
A definite hit. I made it the day before w/o pouring on the chutney. Stored it in the fridge wrapped in plastic wrap until the day of the party. Took it out the morning of the party to soften and the poured the chutney on just before the guests arrived. Went over very well. Leftovers are great! Don't be scared of it, I know the ingredients sounds kind of odd, but all together they're a great flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Wow - this recipe is so tasty and fun as an appetizer and was not hard at all to prepare. It's definitely a new take on a classic cheeseball. Its flavor probably depends in large part on how good the mango chutney you use is, so choose (or prepare) wisely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
TASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States