Mango Chicken Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
its ok but this is not piccata at all is not like a piccata sauce with a mango hint no way. this is a mango sauce and is not bad. and I think is cheap to cook with garlic powder just used minced garlic on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Delicious! Followed the recipe, but used fresh mango instead of nectar, and my husband loved it! I loved it too. The flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphne Rippey
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great flavors. My take on this is that I had way too much flour mixture for coating and too much sauce for dipping before browning. It seemed a shame to throw out that lovely mango sauce that I put through the food processor. Next time i will save it for the sauce over the chicken. Served with coconut jasmine rice--yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Curington Ballard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
All of us loved it. Tried this recipe after viewing her video. Used fresh mango. I also used a small food processor to mix wet ingredients. I cooked it too hot so it was a little too dark brown. I was cautious about using so much lemon juice but it had a unique sweet and sour taste to it. I will make this again and use a lower temp to fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I made some changes so gets a 4 as is/5 with tweaks. I used 3 chicken breasts: The amount of flour mix was about right for that but there was enough marinade for about twice that. I cut the chicken in smaller pieces to cook more evenly and I did them in my fryer to get them nice and crispy; made the sauce separate on the stovetop and served over the chicken so the chicken didn't just soak in it and get soggy like many of the complaints were. My main complaint is that the sauce had too much bite (balsamic vinegar) overwhelming the mango flavor. I ended up having to add and extra cup of mango nectar to balance out the vinegar, then it was too thin and had to add more cornstarch to thicken the sauce...ended up wih total of a 1/4 cup of cornstarch. That was much better but still missing something....added one diced fresh mange then it was perfect. served over Jasmine rice and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Loved it. I also added strips of fresh Mango>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I wish the coating would have stayed crispy, but I had to simmer much longer for doneness. Chicken was very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was ok, not as sweet as I though it would be, mine was a bit too salty/zingy for my taste. This could be because of the type of honey I used or the mango puree instead of mango nectar, next time I make this, I'm def. going to use nectar! I learned my lesson to follow recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Family LOVES this dish. I find that I could marinade 6 pieces of chicken (instead of 2) with the egg mixture sauce. I actually did this overnight just to save some prep time. I doubled the balsamic mixture because it is so good! I served it with a salad that had mango slices in it and it was the perfect compliment to the dish. Have shared this recipe with many friends already. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This recipe was very good and very different. I couldn't find Mango Nectar so I used Peach Nectar (I had trouble finding this in the store - but finally did find it in the international isle - near oriental foods). I bought 2 cans and it was more than enough. I didnt' change anything about the recipe except for using the peach nectar. As other reviewers noted - there is enough sauce for way more than 2 chicken breasts. I used 6 whole breasts (thin sliced) and still had too much sauce (for coating the chicken). Instead of simmering the chicken in the balsamic on the stovetop, I put in the oven to heat through and it came out fine. I just left it in the oven for probably 20 mins or so at 350 while my sweet potatoes heated. This recipe was very good, very sweet - a good change for a chicken recipe. It won't be on my regular weekly menu, but definitely great for company or a special occasion where you want something a little different. Next time I will try with the Jamine rice that everyone refers to. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States