Mango Blueberry Muffins With Coconut Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by melodee
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I seriously ate 7 of these muffins in one sitting. But one note: they taste WAY better after cooling completely - the flavors come out more. And here's what I changed: doubled the streusel, added a tad bit brown sugar to streusel, used applesauce instead of butter in muffin batter, used half whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup flaxseed to make them healthier, and had to use regular milk because I didn't have buttermilk. SO ADDICTING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Run, right now (don't walk) to your kitchen and make these muffins. I scooped this recipe and I couldn't wait to get into the kitchen to make them. They did not disappoint. Full of flavor with a wonderful, moist cakey texture. The blueberries and mango held up perfectly within the batter and the combination of the two is a match made in heaven. But it doesn't stop there. The coconut streusel is the 'icing on the cake' that takes these muffins over the top. I followed this recipe just as written, with no adjustments at all, save for making them a batch of 12 rather than 16 (I like to overfill muffin cups). Served them for breakfast this morning and the kids wondered what they had done to deserve such a treat :D Thanks for a brilliant recipe, geranium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
New Update: I've made them twice. Be sure to buy a "mango slicer". Our Wegman's had them. After slicing it open, cut a crosshatch pattern but don't slice through the skin. Then slide blade along the skin and you get mango chunks. Much easier than peeling a mango. Someone told me how, so I thought I would share. I use a whole mango and it is the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
The main reason I tried this recipe was because of the Mango in the title. These are good, and we thought the blueberry overpowered the mango to the point that all you really taste is the blueberry. If I were to make these again, I would cut the blueberry to 1/2 cup and up the mango by 1/2 cup in return. These are also pretty sweet for our taste, so I think I would cut the sugar by 1/4 cup as well. I also think I would have been better served to put this into 20 muffin cups - my 16 overflowed and I ended up with some sticking issues as a result. We loved the coconut struesel and next time think we would sub brown sugar for the white. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I feel like I'm not doing this recipe any justice by just giving it 5 stars. It is ah-mazing! I want to make them for everyone I love! I didn't change a thing, followed the recipe exactly as written. If you feel compelled to alter this recipe in any way, don't. You can't upgrade perfection! Update 1/30/11: I have made these over a dozen times now and they never fail to impress. Still don't change a thing, they are amazing just the way geranium intended them to be. I've used both fresh and frozen blueberries, very ripe and slightly ripe mangos and they are good either way. I use this recipe for "thank you gifts" or whenever I want to make an impressive treat. It is unique and delicious and I feel so happy I have it in my possession!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I would give these 4.5 stars if I could! They were pretty tasty although the mango was barely detectable. Next time I will cut them into slivers and add an extra 1/4 cup. The coconut topping was a nice touch. If you're a fan of coconut then I would leave the flakes as be and even double the streusel mixture. It was very good! I'm going to bake these in a large muffin pan next batch because the standard size was just too small to enjoy these creations! I made these two days ago and today they tasted the best. One of the few muffins that isn't as delicious right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
FANTASTIC! Easy to make and the combination of flavors is spot on. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, but that was my only change. These came out so light, moist and flavorful. I got 20 muffins out of the batch and I know they will be gone VERY soon! Thanks, geranium, for another winning recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I'm only giving this 3 stars b/c i was disappointed in these muffins. However, I do believe part of the disappointment was my fault (???). These were not sweet like I imagined they would be. Could be my treatment w/ the mango. Be sure you do not cut the mango too close to the core....it can give the muffin and bitter/pine-y taste. Which is what I fear I may have did. Overall, I wasn't impressed with the flavor combination and end result. But maybe others will have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Yum, yum, yum! I wanted to eat them before they were even out of the oven. They smelled so good while cooking. Finally after baking them and almost burning my tounge just to try one, there AWESOME!! I'll post pics later. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
maybe i messed up somehow- didnt turn out as good as I thought they would :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States