Mango Blueberry Muffins With Coconut Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
FANTASTIC! Easy to make and the combination of flavors is spot on. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, but that was my only change. These came out so light, moist and flavorful. I got 20 muffins out of the batch and I know they will be gone VERY soon! Thanks, geranium, for another winning recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Run, right now (don't walk) to your kitchen and make these muffins. I scooped this recipe and I couldn't wait to get into the kitchen to make them. They did not disappoint. Full of flavor with a wonderful, moist cakey texture. The blueberries and mango held up perfectly within the batter and the combination of the two is a match made in heaven. But it doesn't stop there. The coconut streusel is the 'icing on the cake' that takes these muffins over the top. I followed this recipe just as written, with no adjustments at all, save for making them a batch of 12 rather than 16 (I like to overfill muffin cups). Served them for breakfast this morning and the kids wondered what they had done to deserve such a treat :D Thanks for a brilliant recipe, geranium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Awesome muffins! The combination of blueberries and mangoes was delicious and the streusel topping just puts them over the top. They are light and fluffy, not too sweet....just absolutely perfect. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These came out so good. Loved the combination of fruits and the coconut on top. Texture of the cake was really nice too. Definitely added to my baking rotation. Love mangoes and have been putting them in lots of things lately since they are in season now. This was something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hempstead, New York, USA
Living In: New Canaan, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were the most luxurious and beautiful muffins ever. Fluffy and just perfect in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
New Update: I've made them twice. Be sure to buy a "mango slicer". Our Wegman's had them. After slicing it open, cut a crosshatch pattern but don't slice through the skin. Then slide blade along the skin and you get mango chunks. Much easier than peeling a mango. Someone told me how, so I thought I would share. I use a whole mango and it is the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
best muffins ever,I'll be making these often. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAANDJAKERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Instead of muffins, I made mini bread loaves from this recipe. I couldn't get them out of the pan! However, the texture and taste is so very good. I'm making the mini loaves again tonight but will be lining the bottoms with waxed paper! For my taste, the coconut steusel doesn't add a lot of extra flavor so I will be leaving it out. Still, I rate this five stars because the taste is truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I feel like I'm not doing this recipe any justice by just giving it 5 stars. It is ah-mazing! I want to make them for everyone I love! I didn't change a thing, followed the recipe exactly as written. If you feel compelled to alter this recipe in any way, don't. You can't upgrade perfection! Update 1/30/11: I have made these over a dozen times now and they never fail to impress. Still don't change a thing, they are amazing just the way geranium intended them to be. I've used both fresh and frozen blueberries, very ripe and slightly ripe mangos and they are good either way. I use this recipe for "thank you gifts" or whenever I want to make an impressive treat. It is unique and delicious and I feel so happy I have it in my possession!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Very good muffin, very moist and the blueberry and mango combo is perfect. Made a few changes, I reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup and omitted the sugar from the topping since the sweetened coconut flaked is sweet enough to do the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States