Mango Blueberry Muffins With Coconut Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Excellent recipe. I made this one day when I had blueberries and mangoes that needed to be used up. Who knew that I'd find a recipe to utilize both? I didn't have coconut handy, but it came out great all the same. I was afraid that the mango might overpower the blueberries, but they complemented each other well. The muffins also freeze very well, and I was able to have great breakfasts for the rest of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJAVIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These are delicious!!! Love the topping so much that next time I'm gonna double it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I would give these 4.5 stars if I could! They were pretty tasty although the mango was barely detectable. Next time I will cut them into slivers and add an extra 1/4 cup. The coconut topping was a nice touch. If you're a fan of coconut then I would leave the flakes as be and even double the streusel mixture. It was very good! I'm going to bake these in a large muffin pan next batch because the standard size was just too small to enjoy these creations! I made these two days ago and today they tasted the best. One of the few muffins that isn't as delicious right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
The main reason I tried this recipe was because of the Mango in the title. These are good, and we thought the blueberry overpowered the mango to the point that all you really taste is the blueberry. If I were to make these again, I would cut the blueberry to 1/2 cup and up the mango by 1/2 cup in return. These are also pretty sweet for our taste, so I think I would cut the sugar by 1/4 cup as well. I also think I would have been better served to put this into 20 muffin cups - my 16 overflowed and I ended up with some sticking issues as a result. We loved the coconut struesel and next time think we would sub brown sugar for the white. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Very good muffin, very moist and the blueberry and mango combo is perfect. Made a few changes, I reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup and omitted the sugar from the topping since the sweetened coconut flaked is sweet enough to do the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I feel like I'm not doing this recipe any justice by just giving it 5 stars. It is ah-mazing! I want to make them for everyone I love! I didn't change a thing, followed the recipe exactly as written. If you feel compelled to alter this recipe in any way, don't. You can't upgrade perfection! Update 1/30/11: I have made these over a dozen times now and they never fail to impress. Still don't change a thing, they are amazing just the way geranium intended them to be. I've used both fresh and frozen blueberries, very ripe and slightly ripe mangos and they are good either way. I use this recipe for "thank you gifts" or whenever I want to make an impressive treat. It is unique and delicious and I feel so happy I have it in my possession!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Instead of muffins, I made mini bread loaves from this recipe. I couldn't get them out of the pan! However, the texture and taste is so very good. I'm making the mini loaves again tonight but will be lining the bottoms with waxed paper! For my taste, the coconut steusel doesn't add a lot of extra flavor so I will be leaving it out. Still, I rate this five stars because the taste is truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
best muffins ever,I'll be making these often. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAANDJAKERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
New Update: I've made them twice. Be sure to buy a "mango slicer". Our Wegman's had them. After slicing it open, cut a crosshatch pattern but don't slice through the skin. Then slide blade along the skin and you get mango chunks. Much easier than peeling a mango. Someone told me how, so I thought I would share. I use a whole mango and it is the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were the most luxurious and beautiful muffins ever. Fluffy and just perfect in every way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States