Mango Blueberry Muffins With Coconut Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Soft and delicious! I did use the cinnamon in the streusel, but I think it would have made a better addition to the muffin itself in a slightly larger quantity. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used milk with a splash of vinegar and let it sit for 10 minutes; this is the substitute I tend to use without affecting the recipe's outcome. I used frozen fruit, and did not toss the blueberries in flour. Next time I will cut the mango chunks smaller as they did not evenly distribute. Definitely making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good, I agree that the Blueberries overpowered the taste of the Mango and I did cut back on the sugar a little, none of us has a really sweet tooth and I find I cut the sugar on most recipes any way. I loved the idea and I'll try it again, they all went quickly. Thank you for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
After reading a review I *HAD* to make these. I'm very glad I did! I used my large muffin pan which yielded 8 MAMMOTH muffins. Probably won't do that again because I think the temperature should be adjusted and I don't want to run the risk of messing up these gems ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Yum! Next time I think I will add some coconut to the batter also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
So nice and light in sweetness and texture. Am not sure what I did wrong but my muffin tops went a little flat not fluffy like they were in the oven. Other than that IT is EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Oh WOW! Made these for family reunion and my family LOVED THEM!! I also did a batch with peaches in place of the mangos...worked out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melodee
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I seriously ate 7 of these muffins in one sitting. But one note: they taste WAY better after cooling completely - the flavors come out more. And here's what I changed: doubled the streusel, added a tad bit brown sugar to streusel, used applesauce instead of butter in muffin batter, used half whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup flaxseed to make them healthier, and had to use regular milk because I didn't have buttermilk. SO ADDICTING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
These muffins are awesome.The flavors married together well and they were just delicious! I will definitely use this recipe again! They were easy to prepare and a whole lot easier to eat! Thank You geranium for such a top notch recipe! Fantastic muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Awesome, moist and delicious. I've never cooked with a mango before and this was fine to make. I'm not even a big fan of coconut and still loved these! I substituted light margarine for butter and fat free Lactaid + lemon juice for the buttermilk, muffins were still excellent and much lower in fat. With the replacements the muffins are one 3 Weight Watchers points per muffin! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Juhlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
The best muffins I have ever made! I took them to bunco tonight and everyone loved them, and most went back for a 2nd muffin. Delicious! I made the exactly as directed and they were perfect! Will definitely be making them again... And soon I hope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States