Mango Blueberry Muffins With Coconut Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These are just wonderful! I didn't change a thing. The mango flavor intensifies as the muffins cool and is just so fresh tasting! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I subbed 1 c of honey for the sugar and didn't add the buttermilk. I also used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose, and coconut oil instead of butter. We enjoyed these - the mango and blueberries were a good combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These were very good! :) They would really be nice fo serve with brunch. I used frozen blueberries in the recipe rather than fresh because I had some that I wanted to use up and the recipe came out just fine. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirlejfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I'm only giving this 3 stars b/c i was disappointed in these muffins. However, I do believe part of the disappointment was my fault (???). These were not sweet like I imagined they would be. Could be my treatment w/ the mango. Be sure you do not cut the mango too close to the core....it can give the muffin and bitter/pine-y taste. Which is what I fear I may have did. Overall, I wasn't impressed with the flavor combination and end result. But maybe others will have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by preta75
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These are good but not amazing. Although I did deviate from the recipe a bit. I didn't have blueberries so i used pineapple. I figured it would go well with the mango and coconut. I also added a little bit more mango than asked. The thing I made a mistake on is cutting back on the sugar to 3/4C as some had stated because I don't like things too sweet. Next time I will use 1C and use the blueberries and maybe mash some of the mango into the matter along with cut up pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
maybe i messed up somehow- didnt turn out as good as I thought they would :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These are very yummy. I followed it almost to a T, all I did different was pureed 1 cup of mango's and added about 1/4 cup chopped mangoes, I only had 1/2 cup blueberries so I added raspberries, had 3/4 cup. I really liked the fruit in it but couldn't really taste the mango so next time I'm going to add more mango's and less blueberries. I'm also going to cut the sugar a bit. I found the streusel was a little floury so gonna double the recipe and add more coconut. I gave this 5 stars because it is a really good muffin and different from the normal flavors, I just need to adjust the sugar to my personal taste. great recipe Geranium Jan 27,11 just made these again using blueberries, very good, I added 1/4 cup more mango but still don't taste it much but still very tasty, I reduced the heat to 350 and baked for 20 min but half of them burned at the bottom, :S still eating around it though, also doubled the streusel and I had just enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Wow! These are the most wonderful muffins! I have made them multiple weekends in a row and my family never grows tired of them. Side note: Frozen blueberries work wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These were AMAZING! Hands down the best muffins I've ever had/made, and my husband agreed! I did use common healthier substitutes (applesauce for butter in the muffins, all whole-wheat flour, half splenda/half white sugar, skim milk w/vinegar for buttermilk, all egg whites). I can only imagine that the full-fat, white flour version would be absolutely divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I made 6 large muffins instead of 16 small, and they turned out so professional-looking and delicious. I also substituted bing cherries (the dark red ones in a can) for the blueberries & mango.. great substitution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States