Mango Blueberry Muffins With Coconut Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I was just so thrilled when I found this recipe. The only tweak I made was to use up some dried mango in place of the fresh. I just adore these muffins, the coconut streusel really is the icing on the cake and complements these muffins entirely. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I substituted 1/4 cup applesauce for half of the butter, used whole-grain flour, and added 1/4 cup of mango juice to increase the mango flavor. I also used almost 2 cups of diced mango, and 1 cup frozen blueberries, and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. I folded the blueberries into the dough very carefully, so that they would not pop, to preserve the mango flavor. The muffins came out great, very delicate and moist. I guess if you like more blueberry flavor, 1 cup of mango is enough, and if you prefer the mango flavor, use 2 cups of mango and be careful not to pop the blueberries while mixing. Next time, I will add 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger to the batter, and use just plain unsweetened coconut flakes as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
These are fantastic! I did make some changes due to what we had on hand. I didn't have blueberries, but I had strawberries so I diced those with the mango. I also used 1/4 coconut oil and 1/4 applesauce instead of the butter and reduced the sugar to 1 cup. The coconut streusel topping is amazing and I will be using it on many other recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
made exactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
35 calories per mini muffin!! I substituted applesauce for the butter in the muffins, but left it in the streusel topping. I also used 1/3C flax meal instead of flour for extra-healthyness. These were delicious. Must use muffin liners, though! This made about 44 mini muffins. (I'm sure it would have been great as written as well, but the fewer calories, the better, in my book)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
These were very good without changing a thing! Next time, I'll make more of the streusel mixture--it was pretty sparse on the muffins, but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
These muffins are very moist & delicious! I used frozen blueberries & frozen mango without thawing. The muffins turned out wonderfully! Fully cooked & the fruit wasn't runny at all. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Best blueberry muffins EVER! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
These turned out excellent! I was making these into mini-muffins for a large brunch, and realized too late that the blueberries I bought were too big for mini-muffins. I had already mixed the batter, so I went ahead and baked them, and learned I wanted about twice the amount of topping on each mini-muffin. So I made another batch with these changes: I ommitted the blueberries, and added 2 tsp coconut extract. Then instead of the streudel topping, I put a generous amount of sweetened flaked coconut on each muffin. By the time the mini-muffins were cooked through (about 10-12 minutes at 375 degrees) the coconut had toasted. I had several people ask who had made those "coconut muffins" at the brunch. It was a very light-flavored muffin, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
MAKE THEM. These are the best muffins I have ever made, and I have made so many I can't count. Don't change anything, they are perfect just the way they are. I made these, had them at work and they were gone in minutes - yes MINUTES. Sent this recipe to my kids and they loved it too. Almost makes me not want to share with anyone else. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States