Mango Blueberry Muffins With Coconut Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made these muffins for the first time last night and am so pleased with the results! A few changes I made: skipped adding the salt, added about 1 t of vanilla in with the eggs/sugar/butter, used 1/2 c nonfat milk with 1/2 T of lemon juice instead of buttermilk, used double the amount of brown sugar for the topping instead of white and melted the butter for the topping before stirring it into the crumble mixture. I was able to make 14 regular muffins out of this batch. Someone mentioned that they're not tasty hot, but I have to disagree! Thanks for this recipe, geranium. I'll definitely be making these muffins many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I have to admit that I did make just two minor changes. I replaced the butter with good quality organic virgin coconut oil and I made streusel with coconut oil, flour, sugar and cinnamon (just a little) because I didn't have any actual coconut. This was hands down THE best muffin I have ever made. Make sure your mango is ripe but not TOO soft so you get nice chunks. If it isn't ripe enough you'll get the "piney" taste I've heard complaints about. I am currently making my second batch in a week and I can't wait until they're done. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These muffins are absolutely delicious! Even my husband, who doesn't like mangos, likes these. The only change I made was to reduce the sugar slightly, reducing it by 1/2 cup. The fruit has so much flavour! The blueberries tasted very fresh and the mango gave a rich underlying taste. Just fantastic! I'll be making these for my quilting group next time I need to bring 'the lunch'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
My only change to this recipe was that I puréed the fruit (cutting down the blueberries a bit) since my kids would revolt if they "saw" fruit chunks, but I thought these lacked flavor overall. The streusel didn't seem to add anything to me. They were ok, but I may tweak to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These were good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
These muffins are sooooo awesome. Added a little nutmeg to the topping. YUM! Didn't see the hint on double the topping until after they were done but I will definitely do it next time. Although they were yummy warm, once cooled the flavors really popped. Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I was looking for mango recipes because I wasn't familiar with using them. I tried these today, made them exactly as written and they are simply scrumptious! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I just didn't find this recipe that flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
In an attempt to lighten these up I made the following changes: 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 regular flour 1/4 cup applesauce plus 1/4 cup canola oil for butter Reduce sugar to 3/4 cup I made 18 mini muffins without the topping and 4 big ones with the topping. Excellent, but even with the sugar reduced to 3/4 cup I found these sweet, it may be just a personal thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
These muffins are to die for! They are light and fluffy and the streusel on top is awesome. Every time I make these I get rave reviews! The only thing I have ever changed is cutting the sugar down by a few tablespoons (I don't like my breakfast muffins too sweet), other than that it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States