Mango Blueberry Muffins With Coconut Streusel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
These are fantastic! I believe they may be the best muffins I have ever tasted. Follow the recipe and flavors. The base is almost like a butter cake and the mangoes and blueberries are excellent together. I do not care for sweet topping on a muffin, but this one works with the chewy browned coconut. I made 1/2 recipe. I followed the recipe, adding the optional cinnamon, and subbing buttermilk with a mix of 3 tablespoons of milk and 1 tablespoon reduced fat sour cream. I also added about 1 tablespoon of mango juice that accumulated after chopping the fruit as it sat in the measuring cup. 1/2 recipe yielded 9 muffins with a #16 scoop. I sprayed my non stick pan lightly with PAM. After they cooled, at least 10 minutes, I had to nudge them just a little with a plastic knife. That wasnt a big deal. They were done in 24 minutes. I will make these again. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
OMG, CC was right. Run ... don't walk ... to your kitchen and whip these puppies up. They are THAT good! Muffin itself is delightfully light and fluffy, while the mango/blueberries give it JUST the right zing. Coconut crumble takes them from delicious to out of this world. Fill cups fairly full as mine didn't rise much. 25 minutes was perfect time for me. Have read they taste even better once they've cooled ... if so, I'll be making this recipe over and over and over and over again. Thanks SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I had to try this recipe three times before I got it perfect. I recommend making any changes very gradually so you don't end up with two dud batches. The first time I made this recipe I followed the advice of another reviewer to sub milk for buttermilk because I did not have buttermilk on hand. The muffins turned out very flat and bitter because you could still taste the baking powder but I wanted to try again because I LOVE mangoes and blueberries. After 2 mins on google I learned that with baking powder you need an acid not only to get a fluffy outcome but also to neutralize the bitterness of the parking powder. So if you don't have buttermilk, you can google substitutions like one cup of milk with on tablespoon of vinegar, or plain yogurt thinned with milk. The second time around, I used the vinegar and milk and the bitterness was completely gone. However, I followed another reviewers advice and subbed coconut oil instead of butter and my whole batter curdled. I baked it anyway and while delicious, they were very greasy and I tossed them. The third time I followed the recipe EXACTLY AS WRITTEN but I used vinegar and milk and added a little vanilla and cinnamon. They out came out PERFECT!!!!!!! Sooooooo delicious!!!! My coworkers wouldn't stop talking about them (they never tried the duds) I'm making these every mango season along with my mango salsa and mango jam :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babygurlkatalyn
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Love at first bite :-) I'm not a mango fan, as they tend to leave a funny aftertaste. So I substituted peaches with excellent results; either canned (drained, of course) or fresh work well. I liked the topping and doubled it. I also like a lot of berries, so I increased those to 1 1/2 cups. These freeze well for breakfast on the run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
The first time I made this recipe I made it as written and in my opinion it is worthy of a five star rating. I than made the recipe a second time making some substitutions for the sugar and fat in the recipe, to cut the calories and make it more healthy. I have a mango tree and a lot of mangos to use up. I cut the white sugar to 1/4 c. and added 1/2 cup of maple syrup. To counter the additional liquid I reduced the buttermilk by 1.5 tablespoons. I also substituted 1/2 the butter with extra virgin coconut oil. They came out just as good. The next time I make these I will use all coconut oil in the batter instead of butter, but will leave the butter in the streusel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made these as is and they are FABULOUS! They are very moist and taste like they came fresh from a bakery. These are kid tested as I made them for a playdate and some of the little ones were going back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I swear I hear angels singing as I eat these!!!! Only change I would make would be to double the streusel topping. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Just made this recipe yesterday. De-lish!! I have to make more today! The only thing I did different was to put a tsp. of vanilla in the batter, and I used brown sugar for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made these muffins for the first time last night and am so pleased with the results! A few changes I made: skipped adding the salt, added about 1 t of vanilla in with the eggs/sugar/butter, used 1/2 c nonfat milk with 1/2 T of lemon juice instead of buttermilk, used double the amount of brown sugar for the topping instead of white and melted the butter for the topping before stirring it into the crumble mixture. I was able to make 14 regular muffins out of this batch. Someone mentioned that they're not tasty hot, but I have to disagree! Thanks for this recipe, geranium. I'll definitely be making these muffins many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I have to admit that I did make just two minor changes. I replaced the butter with good quality organic virgin coconut oil and I made streusel with coconut oil, flour, sugar and cinnamon (just a little) because I didn't have any actual coconut. This was hands down THE best muffin I have ever made. Make sure your mango is ripe but not TOO soft so you get nice chunks. If it isn't ripe enough you'll get the "piney" taste I've heard complaints about. I am currently making my second batch in a week and I can't wait until they're done. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States