Mandy's Crab Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
My family did not enjoy this. Not sure how to improve it. Better to make plain crab cakes with expensive crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. I did add a few ingredients, I added mushrooms to the onion and pepper mixture, also I followed other recommendations and creamed together mayo with some cream cheese. When it was all assembled, I topped it with Béarnaise sauce,and just before I put it in the oven I sprinkled a mixture of mozzarella and white cheddar. I have made this recipe for two dinner parties, and everyone LOVED it. Great way to use up all the zucchini in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was wonderful!! We actually didn't have any crab meat, but we did have fresh shrimp. We cut up the shrimp (raw) and threw it in the mix and baked it just the same and then broiled it at the very end to bubble and brown the cheese just a bit. It was awesome and filling. I can see why it would be so good with crab too. Plan on using it for our next dinner party. Used a Chardonnay for our wine. Oh yeah, instead of italian bread crumbs we used panko and italian seasoning (it's what we had on hand :) ). Lovely, balanced layer of flavors. You can really make this recipe to your taste without messing anything up. And it's pretty healthy (we left out the butter and used veggie oil for sauteing and didn't put any butter in the stuffing mix either. We did use the mayo though. We're French so mayo is a staple in our home anyway. I love recipes like this. They are very amenable to one's taste and diet concerns. Can't wait to see what other ways we can tweak it. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was surprisingly delicious! Changed the serving size to 1 and followed those measurements. I didn't have breadcrumbs (trying to be low carb) so I used Almond Meal, I omitted the pepper because I don't really like them and I didn't have white wine so I didn't use any substitution, and I used Mozzarella since I didn't have Parmesan. It would have probably been more flavorful had I used everything, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
A great dish. Followed the recipe as is, this time around. Would make a great appetizer,if you use smaller zucchini. Will definitely make again. Made a great deal of filling, enough to stuff a green pepper as a secondary dish for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This filling is excellent. I used it to stuff mushrooms. It makes a lot. I will definitely make this again in mushrooms, maybe the next cocktail party I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is a delicious keeper. First time I made it exactly. The amount of stuffing was enormous, easily enough for 8 squash. I baked the extra in a casserole. Most of the cheese fell off the zucchini and burned on the pan. Second time I was in a hurry, so I sauteed the veggies, including the zucchini pulp, in all 4 Tbsp butter. Then I mixed the Parmesan cheese in with the stuffing ingredients. Turned out I was out of white wine, so I used white wine vinegar. Then I microwaved the stuffed zucchini for 4 minutes. The result was just as yummy as the original recipe. The vinegar added an interesting tang. Next time I may try it with balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mastodon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was pretty good. I think cream cheese would have been better than mayo though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Orizaba, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Absolutely Delicious... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marie lynn
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
The family loved this dish. Next time I will use a little less bread crumbs though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States