Mandarin Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was pretty good. It took a lot longer to cook than the directions called for...maybe it was my oven though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
The glaze is other-worldly spectacular, easily the highlight of this recipe. It appropriately compliments the mandarin oranges. After resting the roast for a bit, I sliced it, then dumped the entire volume of glaze left over in the roaster, over the sliced pork. Whatameal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I usually don't do well with glazes & ovens-the glaze ends up dripping into the pan & burning. Hubby suggested a thin layer of water in the bottom of the pan next time so it won't burn. Since he & the kids liked it, I'll try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOURNEYGIRL02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
We loved this recipe. I made a 3.5 pound boneless roast and cooked for 1.5 hours on 325 then pulled out and it was done already (read 160 degrees). So I was worried that if I put on the glaze and then cooked again it would be dry - but no worries. I just turned the temp down and roasted for another 15 min on about 300. It was juicy, sweet, savory, and delicious! I did forget to put the oranges on the top, I meant to but forgot. Still beautiful, still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This has the greatest sauce! My family LOVES this recipe. I actually double the glaze recipe, cook half in a small pot on the stove to thoroughly heat and put it in a glass jar. I use it as a dressing and with leftover pork in whole wheat wraps with lots of lettuce- DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was really good. I used pork tenderloin as it was on sale at the grocery store and just adjusted cooking time. My husband and children really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
VERY good and easy! I tried to roast it alongside my Thanksgiving turkey and got the timing wrong, which overcooked it slightly, but other than that, it came out great! A few suggestions: 1. The glaze is delicious. Make twice as much and serve some as a side sauce. The meat on the inside didn't get any, and you'll be glad to have extra. 2. Use a thermometer if you have it. Pork tends to dry easily as it is. With a thermometer you can get perfectly cooked rosy meat that's not overly dry (unlike what I got.. bleh) 3. BRINE, BRINE, BRINE. Like turkey, pork is always better brined. Its easy, cheap, and will improve the pork. I made a brine with salt, sugar, orange juice, ginger and garlic. Same flavors as the glaze and I believe is what saved my pork from beeing TOO bad after overcooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Delicious! Easy prep in minimal time for dinner party. I used 2 boneless roasts and they were moist and tender. Glaze has amazing flavor! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Made it for some friends and it was well received. I made some changes. I used fresh rosemary and made a paste with garlic and olive oil. I then rubbed it all over the roast and let it sit overnight. For the sauce I mistakenly bought apricot with passion fruit jam instead of the orange! So I omitted the mandarins and the ginger. This marinade and method of preparation would be amazing on baby back ribs....which I plan on trying next! Or with some Pineapples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTINATHEDIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
One of the best pork recipes I've come across. The only thing I did difference is that I used a pork roast without the bone. It was juicy, flavorful and everyone had second helpings. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States