Mandarin Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was pretty good. It took a lot longer to cook than the directions called for...maybe it was my oven though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
The glaze is other-worldly spectacular, easily the highlight of this recipe. It appropriately compliments the mandarin oranges. After resting the roast for a bit, I sliced it, then dumped the entire volume of glaze left over in the roaster, over the sliced pork. Whatameal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I usually don't do well with glazes & ovens-the glaze ends up dripping into the pan & burning. Hubby suggested a thin layer of water in the bottom of the pan next time so it won't burn. Since he & the kids liked it, I'll try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOURNEYGIRL02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
We loved this recipe. I made a 3.5 pound boneless roast and cooked for 1.5 hours on 325 then pulled out and it was done already (read 160 degrees). So I was worried that if I put on the glaze and then cooked again it would be dry - but no worries. I just turned the temp down and roasted for another 15 min on about 300. It was juicy, sweet, savory, and delicious! I did forget to put the oranges on the top, I meant to but forgot. Still beautiful, still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This has the greatest sauce! My family LOVES this recipe. I actually double the glaze recipe, cook half in a small pot on the stove to thoroughly heat and put it in a glass jar. I use it as a dressing and with leftover pork in whole wheat wraps with lots of lettuce- DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was really good. I used pork tenderloin as it was on sale at the grocery store and just adjusted cooking time. My husband and children really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
VERY good and easy! I tried to roast it alongside my Thanksgiving turkey and got the timing wrong, which overcooked it slightly, but other than that, it came out great! A few suggestions: 1. The glaze is delicious. Make twice as much and serve some as a side sauce. The meat on the inside didn't get any, and you'll be glad to have extra. 2. Use a thermometer if you have it. Pork tends to dry easily as it is. With a thermometer you can get perfectly cooked rosy meat that's not overly dry (unlike what I got.. bleh) 3. BRINE, BRINE, BRINE. Like turkey, pork is always better brined. Its easy, cheap, and will improve the pork. I made a brine with salt, sugar, orange juice, ginger and garlic. Same flavors as the glaze and I believe is what saved my pork from beeing TOO bad after overcooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Delicious! Easy prep in minimal time for dinner party. I used 2 boneless roasts and they were moist and tender. Glaze has amazing flavor! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Made it for some friends and it was well received. I made some changes. I used fresh rosemary and made a paste with garlic and olive oil. I then rubbed it all over the roast and let it sit overnight. For the sauce I mistakenly bought apricot with passion fruit jam instead of the orange! So I omitted the mandarins and the ginger. This marinade and method of preparation would be amazing on baby back ribs....which I plan on trying next! Or with some Pineapples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
One of the best pork recipes I've come across. The only thing I did difference is that I used a pork roast without the bone. It was juicy, flavorful and everyone had second helpings. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States