Mandarin Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I first made this recipe out of the magazine, and it is a good one. The secret to making good pork is to first of all, find a good place to buy your pork (I only get it from Costco), and second of all, cook it low and slow, being careful not to over do it. For my oven, I would do it just a shade under 350. Pull it out before the internal temp hits 160, because the roast will continue to cook after it's out. Make sure you have a reliable thermometer to monitor its temperature. This recipe produces a moist and succulent roast, and all the flavorings marry well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
One of the best pork recipes I've come across. The only thing I did difference is that I used a pork roast without the bone. It was juicy, flavorful and everyone had second helpings. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Delicious, made it with boneless loin and halved the time but it still turned out delicious. I would suggest keeping some of the glaze as a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This has the greatest sauce! My family LOVES this recipe. I actually double the glaze recipe, cook half in a small pot on the stove to thoroughly heat and put it in a glass jar. I use it as a dressing and with leftover pork in whole wheat wraps with lots of lettuce- DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
VERY good and easy! I tried to roast it alongside my Thanksgiving turkey and got the timing wrong, which overcooked it slightly, but other than that, it came out great! A few suggestions: 1. The glaze is delicious. Make twice as much and serve some as a side sauce. The meat on the inside didn't get any, and you'll be glad to have extra. 2. Use a thermometer if you have it. Pork tends to dry easily as it is. With a thermometer you can get perfectly cooked rosy meat that's not overly dry (unlike what I got.. bleh) 3. BRINE, BRINE, BRINE. Like turkey, pork is always better brined. Its easy, cheap, and will improve the pork. I made a brine with salt, sugar, orange juice, ginger and garlic. Same flavors as the glaze and I believe is what saved my pork from beeing TOO bad after overcooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for Christmas 2009 dinner. It was a true hit. I did not have orange juice concentrate, so since I was doubling the sauce as recommended, I put two cups of orange juice on the stove to reduce to a syrup. Please keep an eye on your orange juice. I did not and, lord help me, I had orange juice everywhere and it had burned in the pan. I just cleaned up and started over. I reduced the orange juice by half and had just the right amount. I also put the mandarin oranges on the side of the meat with toothpicks. This meal is worth all of the trouble. My boyfriend put it in the top ten favorites of dinners!! He rated this recipe as number two. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
The glaze on this pork is wonderful, everyone raved. For high quality pork, buy boneless and reduce cooking time. For low quality pork, use a slow cooker and enjoy pork that falls apart, with the sauce over rice....mmmmm. As the dish is quite rich, suggest serving with french beans, broccoli, baked potatoes or other 'unadorned' vegetables rather than creamy scalloped potatoes, as I did...made for a very rich dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This is amazing! I made it back in 20002 for the first time and my family fell in love with it. My son loved it so much that he asked me to cook it for his wedding (yes, we catered it ourselves). It was such a hit! So, it's a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is the best pork roast ever! My family made it after seeing it in the Taste of Home magazine and we fell in love. Not only does it taste wonderful, but it looks very impressive too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was actually very good. I substituted apricot preserves for the orange marmalade, and I used orange juice for lack of orange concentrate lol. Family enjoyed it. I will make it again, next time without the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States