Mandarin Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I really can't believe how good this was! I changed one thing, I used the crock pot instead of the oven. 2 small roasts, about 3lbs combined, coated in the spices and placed in the crock pot for 4 1/2 hours on low. Absolutely fork-tender, but enough integrity to slice well after setting for 10-15 minutes. I added the sauce after slicing. RAVE REVIEWS from family and friends. Served with sides of roasted baby red potatoes and a mix of sauteed onions tossed with fresh spinach leaves until properly wilted. Try it, you won't disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Very flavorful. A good base for a fruity marinade/sauce/glaze. I've played around with different fruits (Mango, peach, etc..) to good success. (The OJ concentrate can be subbed out for two teaspoons of orange extract, btw. I don't keep OJ concentrate on hand, and found that a helpful note.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Delicous, looks beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I'm sorry but this made the worst roast I've ever had. All I could taste in the glaze was soy sauce. I wound up actually washing the roast off to get rid of as much of the taste as I could. I think I'll be making another roast and making this one into a soup, where the flavor can be diluted out some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Used this glaze for a church dinner for 150. Received rave reviews. We substituted chicken breasts for the pork. Lightly flour the chicken breast, saute, drizzle with a small amount of glaze and finish cooking in the oven. Serve with additional glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Outstanding! Tangy, tender, moist! The only problem I had was the low temperature for a short cooking time. I had to bring the oven temperature up to 375 for the final forty five minutes to get the pork to a safe eating temperature. Still, it came out beautifully! I made some cumin and clove wild rice to go along with the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was great and very easy to make. I didn't have any manderin oranges so I sliced a fresh orange and placed them on top for the last 30 minutes of cooking.Also, great in sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I just made this recipe for 5 adults & 1 3 yr old, to rave reviews! I am a pretty seasoned chef, so to speak haha, & often use new recipes as guides & change the proportions to suit my family's taste, but this recipe looked intriguing, so I stuck to it, at least as far as the glaze went. For the pork itself, I actually made a rub of rosemary, thyme, s & p, & onion & garlic powders. Covered all sides of 2 small roasts in total just under 4 lbs. put them in a cast-iron chicken fryer deep-sided pan, using 6 heads of garlic with the tops chopped off to keep the 2 hunks of meat apart. I let them roast for about 1 hour, or until the thermometer showed about 125, then added the oranges & glaze all over everything, even the garlic bulbs. Cooked to 150, because I wanted to to be tender & a wee bit pink inside. Rested & carved, then put back in to the glaze & back in the oven while I prepped the beans almondine & plated the sweet potatoes, then pulled out the meat at the last minute. Absolutely DIVINE! My brother & sister-in-law loved it as much as we did & there were NO leftovers, & even my 3 yr-old said, "Mummy, that steak is seriously yummy." Well done!! I have to say though, I did double the glaze recipe, & glad I did, as now I have enough to use for some chicken breast served on rice mid-week! If you allow it to cool, all the pork fat congeals & you can take it right off, then freeze it, & it's good to go! My family can hardly wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I used this with a small boneless pork tenderloin. It was delicious and my 9 year old son thought it "the best ever". We all liked the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Very nice flavor. Used fresh herbs and boneless pork roast. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States