Mandarin Orange, Gorgonzola and Almond Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This is a great salad, Paula. Very light and healthy. I cut the gorgonzola to 3/4c. Since my family loves citrus, I diced up two fresh oranges and used 4T of that juice in the dressing. Yummy. I believe the fresh oranges added a nice texture and more flavor than the mandarin. You could also substitute toasted pecans to really enhance the fresh orange flavor. Thanks for providing a recipe that can be very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
A great salad, we loved the gorgonzola. I used 4T of reserve juice to make the dressing more citrus flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Fantastic! My husband loves Gorgonzola, but I admit that I do not. Yet I went ahead and made the salad fully expecting to hate it. The flavors balance each other in such a tremendously complimentary way that the strong Gorgonzola taste is not compromised, but enhanced by the sweetness of the oranges and the nuttiness of the almonds. What I expected to hate will be a keeper in my summer salad repertoire. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Excellent salad. A bit heavy on gorgonzola. Next time I'll reduce by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Excellent salad! Due to the oranges, I served it for a Holiday Dinner Party, but would be great during Summer too. Very easy to prepare. I did what others suggested and reduced the Gorgonzola cheese amount by 25%. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This was delicious! Make sure and throw this all together right before you serve it so your lettuce doesn't get wilty. I used balsamic vinegar instead and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASSETTMAN
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This was easy to make but I didn't really think it had great flavor. I had to add a lot more of the reserved juice to get even a little hint of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2003
A really pretty and tasty salad. I recommend using spinach for the base for a variation. I also added a pinch of sugar to the dressing. Good with Quesa Fresca instead of the Gorgonzola, also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
My family and I thought this was just an average salad, but that may be my fault. I did not have any gorgonzola cheese and just used feta. Also, I thought the dressing was a little bland - needed more mandarin orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Yummy! I used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine and really like it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States