Mandarin Orange, Gorgonzola and Almond Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This is a great salad, Paula. Very light and healthy. I cut the gorgonzola to 3/4c. Since my family loves citrus, I diced up two fresh oranges and used 4T of that juice in the dressing. Yummy. I believe the fresh oranges added a nice texture and more flavor than the mandarin. You could also substitute toasted pecans to really enhance the fresh orange flavor. Thanks for providing a recipe that can be very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
A great salad, we loved the gorgonzola. I used 4T of reserve juice to make the dressing more citrus flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Fantastic! My husband loves Gorgonzola, but I admit that I do not. Yet I went ahead and made the salad fully expecting to hate it. The flavors balance each other in such a tremendously complimentary way that the strong Gorgonzola taste is not compromised, but enhanced by the sweetness of the oranges and the nuttiness of the almonds. What I expected to hate will be a keeper in my summer salad repertoire. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Excellent salad. A bit heavy on gorgonzola. Next time I'll reduce by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Excellent salad! Due to the oranges, I served it for a Holiday Dinner Party, but would be great during Summer too. Very easy to prepare. I did what others suggested and reduced the Gorgonzola cheese amount by 25%. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This was delicious! Make sure and throw this all together right before you serve it so your lettuce doesn't get wilty. I used balsamic vinegar instead and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASSETTMAN
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This was easy to make but I didn't really think it had great flavor. I had to add a lot more of the reserved juice to get even a little hint of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2003
A really pretty and tasty salad. I recommend using spinach for the base for a variation. I also added a pinch of sugar to the dressing. Good with Quesa Fresca instead of the Gorgonzola, also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
My family and I thought this was just an average salad, but that may be my fault. I did not have any gorgonzola cheese and just used feta. Also, I thought the dressing was a little bland - needed more mandarin orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Yummy! I used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine and really like it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States