Mandarin Orange, Gorgonzola and Almond Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I chopped up red leaf lettuce, regular lettuce, rucola and spinach for the salad. I had to peel mandarin oranges cuz i didnt have a can of m-oranges on hand and it was a pain in the butt but tasted really good, more natural. The m-orange, gorgonzola and almond matched totally well together. I chopped up other types of nuts to put in the salad--walnuts, peanuts and cashews and it was still very good. There was plenty of taste with just (olive) oil, juice and red wine vinegar as the dressing. I squeezed a mandarin orange and got the juice from that instead of the syrup, and Im glad I did that because it didnt taste too sugary sweet. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is my staple salad--the one I can always pull out and have it be a hit. Over the years, I've made slight modifications--mostly in how I make the dressing (I add either a little honey or agave nectar to make the dressing a bit sweeter). Sometimes I add strawberries in the summer. A little coarse-ground pepper helps this salad too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This salad tastes fantastic and is super easy to make. I have made it countless times and everyone always loves it. I recommend adding the hot almonds on top of the gorgonzola so that it melts the cheese a little bit into the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Easy and a great blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Millinocket, Maine, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This salad was excellent! I used a spring mix and followed the advice of other users and added twice the amount of the mandarin orange juice. It turned out perfect! Next time I make this, I think I would like to try pecans and maybe spinach as some of the other reviewers recommended. I definitely recommend trying this recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I love this salad. I made it for a luncheon at school and everyone was asking for the recipe. The only thing I changed was that I left out the almonds as I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I really liked the salad, but I found the dressing to be a bit bland,it felt too runny and just not anything too great. So, I did tweak it a bit by increasing the oil to 1/3 cup oil, adding the 2 TBS of red wine vinegar, 4 TBS of orange juice, 2 TBS orange marmalade, 2 TBS sugar, pepper & salt. I found the orange marmalade to be the kick that it needed! I also added slices of red onion and real mandarin orange slices instead of the canned stuff. I know - I know... I changed it all around, but it *really* made a difference! It went over really well and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This salad is a favorite. I make it for almost every get together we have and we always get complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Good salad. I used double the amount of vinegar and pine nuts instead of almonds. The dressing needed the extra vinegar. Made in indivdual bowls so leftovers won't be soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Easier, so tasty, so colorful, and it made my husband and I rave about this recipe....it wasn't a side dish---it was the MAIN dish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States