Mandarin Orange, Gorgonzola and Almond Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This is a great salad, Paula. Very light and healthy. I cut the gorgonzola to 3/4c. Since my family loves citrus, I diced up two fresh oranges and used 4T of that juice in the dressing. Yummy. I believe the fresh oranges added a nice texture and more flavor than the mandarin. You could also substitute toasted pecans to really enhance the fresh orange flavor. Thanks for providing a recipe that can be very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
My family and I thought this was just an average salad, but that may be my fault. I did not have any gorgonzola cheese and just used feta. Also, I thought the dressing was a little bland - needed more mandarin orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
A great salad, we loved the gorgonzola. I used 4T of reserve juice to make the dressing more citrus flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Excellent salad! Due to the oranges, I served it for a Holiday Dinner Party, but would be great during Summer too. Very easy to prepare. I did what others suggested and reduced the Gorgonzola cheese amount by 25%. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Excellent salad. A bit heavy on gorgonzola. Next time I'll reduce by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Very interesting taste. I used less oil and vinegar than indicated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This was delicious! Make sure and throw this all together right before you serve it so your lettuce doesn't get wilty. I used balsamic vinegar instead and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASSETTMAN
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This was very easy to make and it tasted great. My husband ate the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Fantastic! My husband loves Gorgonzola, but I admit that I do not. Yet I went ahead and made the salad fully expecting to hate it. The flavors balance each other in such a tremendously complimentary way that the strong Gorgonzola taste is not compromised, but enhanced by the sweetness of the oranges and the nuttiness of the almonds. What I expected to hate will be a keeper in my summer salad repertoire. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
great tasting salad. the flavor of the cheese and oranges are great together. we like it as a light dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States