Mandarin Orange, Gorgonzola and Almond Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This salad won over big time as an alternative to traditional Thanksgiving side dishes -- at two households! Snappy, refreshing and delicious even if you're not a fan of green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
What a nice change from my usual cranberry, walnut, gorgonzola salad! Here were my changes, but out of respect to the original, they are only my own... I used spinach for the greens. I used orange juice instead of that stuff in the can. I used an Orange Muscat Vinegar that I had found at Trader Joe's. I used slivered almonds instead. And olive oil, of course. I also did not measure anything, which I never do. It was really yummy. I do think that red onions would have been wonderful, but in the interest of making out, I didn't add them. Make this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
the oranges make for a wonderful flavor. the cheese is very strong (like blue cheese) so i wouldn't use quite as much. i would also increase the vinegar amount in the dressing or purchase a bottled sesame dressing to brighten the flavor. over all, it's a great summer salad for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliasmama06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I used this recipe on a sunny spring- like day. This was very easy and quick. I cooked one piece of chicken with garlic and pepper on the stove and cut it into little chuncks to add. I also added grape tomatoes and one avacado. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This was a nice change from the traditional tossed salad. I added 5 tablespoon of the mandarin orange juice to sweeten the dressing a bit and caramelized the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
A very quick easy and TASTY recipe for a salad!!! I love this in the summmer time with a BBQ menu! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I couldnt find gorgonzola at the store so I used cheddar and mozzarella ( I just found out that gorgonzola is very close to the blue cheese family for anyone else who has this problem :-)). It was still good and the dressing was nice and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
A really pretty and tasty salad. I recommend using spinach for the base for a variation. I also added a pinch of sugar to the dressing. Good with Quesa Fresca instead of the Gorgonzola, also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This was easy to make but I didn't really think it had great flavor. I had to add a lot more of the reserved juice to get even a little hint of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
delicious, but my 11 old son didn't care for it too much... a little too sophisticated for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States