Mandarin Orange, Gorgonzola and Almond Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This salad won over big time as an alternative to traditional Thanksgiving side dishes -- at two households! Snappy, refreshing and delicious even if you're not a fan of green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
What a nice change from my usual cranberry, walnut, gorgonzola salad! Here were my changes, but out of respect to the original, they are only my own... I used spinach for the greens. I used orange juice instead of that stuff in the can. I used an Orange Muscat Vinegar that I had found at Trader Joe's. I used slivered almonds instead. And olive oil, of course. I also did not measure anything, which I never do. It was really yummy. I do think that red onions would have been wonderful, but in the interest of making out, I didn't add them. Make this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
the oranges make for a wonderful flavor. the cheese is very strong (like blue cheese) so i wouldn't use quite as much. i would also increase the vinegar amount in the dressing or purchase a bottled sesame dressing to brighten the flavor. over all, it's a great summer salad for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliasmama06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I used this recipe on a sunny spring- like day. This was very easy and quick. I cooked one piece of chicken with garlic and pepper on the stove and cut it into little chuncks to add. I also added grape tomatoes and one avacado. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This was a nice change from the traditional tossed salad. I added 5 tablespoon of the mandarin orange juice to sweeten the dressing a bit and caramelized the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
A very quick easy and TASTY recipe for a salad!!! I love this in the summmer time with a BBQ menu! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I couldnt find gorgonzola at the store so I used cheddar and mozzarella ( I just found out that gorgonzola is very close to the blue cheese family for anyone else who has this problem :-)). It was still good and the dressing was nice and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
A really pretty and tasty salad. I recommend using spinach for the base for a variation. I also added a pinch of sugar to the dressing. Good with Quesa Fresca instead of the Gorgonzola, also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This was easy to make but I didn't really think it had great flavor. I had to add a lot more of the reserved juice to get even a little hint of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
delicious, but my 11 old son didn't care for it too much... a little too sophisticated for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States