Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Family enjoyed this one. It was easy to make. I thought it was a bit too sweet for me but my Grandson liked it. It could have had a bit more orange flavor. I used chicken tenders instead of the breasts called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
A very good recipe, and I did stray from the original recipe. I first cubed the chicken breast and sautéed it without the flour coating. I didn't want any breading. Doubled the sauce so there would be plenty to serve over 'Asian Coconut Rice' from AR. Once the sauce had thickened, I added a bag of frozen broccoli to make the dish a full meal. I used Wondra® instead of the cornstarch as the thickener and it worked great. Realized as I'm writing this review, that I forgot the cashews. I will add them to the leftovers. The dish has a light orange flavoring, that I will enhance with some fresh orange zest, the next time. All-in-all a very good recipe, that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Great, easy sauce! I didn't have mandarin oranges so I used a fresh orange. Left out the cashews, and at serving time I added some frozen mixed stir fry veggies. Thank you Tammie Bickar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This recipe was great...I followed the recipe except for, I used fresh mandarin. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pchbloom
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
One of the easiest and tastiest meals I've made with Chinese restaurant taste! I used homemade hoisin sauce (with peanut butter). Added some cornstarch to the hoisin/orange mixture to thicken the sauce since I didn't flour the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Delicious. Added some red onion instead of green since we had it on hand and omitted the cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This recipe is perfect! Everyone loved it and was left begging for more. I didn't have hoisin sauce so I used a little orange marinade I had handy and added some chili oil to spice it up. Also, to those people who are complaining that the mandarins become soft, they are supposed to completely break down and form a thick sauce. If you have visible orange pieces you didnt cook it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunkChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
It was a big hit with everyone and very easy to make! Good if you are in a hurry to make dinner. If you are cooking for a large crowd, could prepare chicken ahead of time and then make sauce just before needed and add chicken and heat through. Did increase ingred. to: 1 entire large green onion (abt 3 tbsp chopped), 1 tbsp hoisin sauce, 2 small cans mandarin oranges (16 oz), 1 small pkg cashews (3.5 oz/100 g)- chopped in half, extra juice as needed to increase sauce. I also added to sauce abt 3 tbsp each of red & yellow pepper chopped - slightly sauteed, for added colour. Took advice of some and added the mandarins and nuts last so they didn't get mushy or soft. Can see in future adding red pepper flakes to make a bit more spicey and zesty, depending on your guests tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Our mall has a sweet orange chicken. If that is what you are looking for, this is not your recipe. The flavor I ended up with was a gingery, soyish, really orange sauce, which is not my preference, but I can see where it could be for others. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is really easy and really tasty. I didn't have canned mandarins so used about 5 fresh ones. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States