Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pchbloom
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
One of the easiest and tastiest meals I've made with Chinese restaurant taste! I used homemade hoisin sauce (with peanut butter). Added some cornstarch to the hoisin/orange mixture to thicken the sauce since I didn't flour the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Delicious. Added some red onion instead of green since we had it on hand and omitted the cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This recipe is perfect! Everyone loved it and was left begging for more. I didn't have hoisin sauce so I used a little orange marinade I had handy and added some chili oil to spice it up. Also, to those people who are complaining that the mandarins become soft, they are supposed to completely break down and form a thick sauce. If you have visible orange pieces you didnt cook it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunkChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
It was a big hit with everyone and very easy to make! Good if you are in a hurry to make dinner. If you are cooking for a large crowd, could prepare chicken ahead of time and then make sauce just before needed and add chicken and heat through. Did increase ingred. to: 1 entire large green onion (abt 3 tbsp chopped), 1 tbsp hoisin sauce, 2 small cans mandarin oranges (16 oz), 1 small pkg cashews (3.5 oz/100 g)- chopped in half, extra juice as needed to increase sauce. I also added to sauce abt 3 tbsp each of red & yellow pepper chopped - slightly sauteed, for added colour. Took advice of some and added the mandarins and nuts last so they didn't get mushy or soft. Can see in future adding red pepper flakes to make a bit more spicey and zesty, depending on your guests tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Our mall has a sweet orange chicken. If that is what you are looking for, this is not your recipe. The flavor I ended up with was a gingery, soyish, really orange sauce, which is not my preference, but I can see where it could be for others. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is really easy and really tasty. I didn't have canned mandarins so used about 5 fresh ones. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Definitely a keeper! The family loved it. A very quick and easy recipe. I did not have mandarin oranges so I used a tangerine I had on hand. I think it definitely needs mandarins as the tangerine was slightly bitter. I also added chopped zucchini and thinly sliced green peppers that needed to be used up. The sauce was delicious. I tripled the sauce as DH likes to have lots of sauce and I didn't think the specified amount would be enough for us. Doubling would have been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Oh this was sooo good. As per other reviewers advice, I did double the orange juice. I cubed the chicken and dipped in egg and then the flour and used all oil. I added 1 clove of chopped garlic and 1 tsp. fresh grated ginger to the sauce mix. I left out the cashews because of family nut issues and the mandarin oranges did come out mushy but that might have been the brand I bought. Be generous with the green onion. Served it over basmati rice with those super thin string beans (never remember their name). As good, if not better than any take-out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is a great recipe. I didn't measure the hoisin sauce and orange juice exactly, so it may have been slightly sweeter than I would have liked. I also wanted a little spice, so I added maybe a 1/2 teaspoon of Thai red pepper chili paste. It didn't end up making a huge difference. I added more green onions because I love them, but also to add some color at the end. Finally, I didn't want to buy cashews, so I chopped up raw almonds instead. The dish was great served over Texmati white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
needs more orange flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States