Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
After reading the reviews, I modified this because my husband is a "texture" guy and I didn't think he would like chunks of oranges. Instead of the mandarin oranges and orange juice, I added orange zest (approx. 1 tsp) and then squeezed 2/3 C juice from the oranges and added that to the sauce. This added the perfect amount of orange flavor without the extra calories of the orange marmalade alternative. I also cooked the chicken in olive oil and sesame oil instead of butter for a more asian flavor. I tossed in some broccoli toward the end and let the sauce thicken. It tastes better than takeout! You might want to toss in the cashews right before serving (or if reheating in the microwave, add after nuking) because they lose their crunchiness if they get cooked too long or microwaved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This is a great recipe! I cut the chicken into little strips. I also used 1 cup of orange juice and let the sauce reduce a little until it was thick and sticky. Served over rice with some chow mein noodles sprinkled over the top, this is a great weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
My husband loved this! It was orangey without being too sweet. For homemade chinese food, it was pretty easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
This is easy and delish. A nice light meal great for summer dinner or company sunday lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Great sauce! I used only two chicken breasts but the full recipe of sauce. Glad I did because my husband & I couldn't get enough of it. I added garlic powder, salt and pepper to the flour and more OJ than the recipe called for (added more as the sauce reduced). Just the right combination of sweet and spicy. THanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I dont have any kids, but i did, i think htis would be okay for them. its really easy and quick, but its not the authentic chinese taste, if that's what youre looking for. you can try putting orange zest of you dont have any mandarin oranges. its an average american version of orange chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This recipe was great, I used chicken tenders instead of breasts. If you can't find tenders cut breasts in 1 1/2 in strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Wonderful! When I have a craving for the deep-fried version at Chinese take-outs, I make this. I add a little Chinese Five Spice powder to deepen the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This dish was really good. First I cut the chicken into 3-inch strips. Then, I added fresh little red peppers (about 5)and some mushrooms for color. I also used alittle bit of the orange's juice as the sauce and let it simmer for alittle bit while stirring. It came our a good consistency; kinda sticky, thick. The pepers give it a good zing. For someone who said that it didn't taste "authentic". It's because it's not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
We loved this dish!! The only change I made was I threw in some water chestnuts for a bit more crunch. This is now one of our favorite chicken recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States