Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This recipe needs something, although I don't know what....perhaps a good spice blend. I was disappointed with the blandness. Good concept, but won't make again unless I tweak it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This was quick and easy for a weeknight dinner and the sauce was great served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
After reading the reviews, I modified this because my husband is a "texture" guy and I didn't think he would like chunks of oranges. Instead of the mandarin oranges and orange juice, I added orange zest (approx. 1 tsp) and then squeezed 2/3 C juice from the oranges and added that to the sauce. This added the perfect amount of orange flavor without the extra calories of the orange marmalade alternative. I also cooked the chicken in olive oil and sesame oil instead of butter for a more asian flavor. I tossed in some broccoli toward the end and let the sauce thicken. It tastes better than takeout! You might want to toss in the cashews right before serving (or if reheating in the microwave, add after nuking) because they lose their crunchiness if they get cooked too long or microwaved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ally_Rae
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was a fantastic chicken recipe and it turned out beautifully, despite being an easy thing to prepare. I didn't use the cashews the recipe called for, but it tasted wonderful, all the same. My kitchen smelled wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally_Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I only gave this 5 stars because I marinated the chicken (cut into 1" chunks) in a mixture of 3 tb. soy sauce, 1 tb. minced garlic, 4 tb. orange juice and 1 tb. lemon juice all in a ziploc bag for hours. I added 1/2 cup of homemade orange marmalade to the sauce. I also toasted the cashews like others suggested and didn't add the mandarin oranges until the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
My husband liked this and it was easy to make, so I will give it a 4. To me, it was more a 3. I agree with other reviewers, this recipe is just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This was just okay. I followed the recipe exactly. The oranges just turned into a big pile of mush and the flavor of the entire dish was just kind of boring. Pounding out the chicken breast definitely makes for an extremely tender piece of meat, but that is definitely not enough to get me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
My husband's favorite allrecipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I've tried and rated nearly 200 recipes the last several years on the allrecipes website. Though there are many, many five star recipes, this is one of the best. The recipe hints of exotic, Asian cuisine--rich and citrisy. I doubled the hoisin sauce and orange juice to make sure there was plenty of sauce. I served it with white rice and Amish Slaw, a sweet cole slaw which can also be found on the allrecipes website. Don't even think twice about preparing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States