Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was excellent. I did make a few changes to suit us. I stir fried pea pods, the whole bunch of green onions and a small box of mushrooms, then set aside. After shaking the chicken in a bag with flour I stir fried it and set it aside. After the sauce was made I then added everything back to the pan along with a can of drained, sliced water chestnuts and the cashews. Next time I will double the sauce. The great thing about stir frying is, it is so simple to adapt the recipe to your families taste with your favorite vegetables, etc. This is one of my new favorites. It is quick, delicious and great for company. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I made this recipe almost exactly at stated (minus the cashews because someone had eaten them all when I went to use them grrrr!) I did double the sauce as well as add broccoli. My husband and I thought it was ok. A little on the sweet side. Seemed like it was missing something. However, my 6 and 8 year olds LOVED it. They inhaled their bowls. They wanted it for breakfast the next morning! I wouldn't let them so they had it for lunch and my son finished it off for dinner. Will definitely be making this some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I wish I could give this more stars. My husband, my friend and I LOVED this dish. I cooked it just as directed and added broccoli when I added the chicken back in. I noticed as I stirred the food around that the oranges disintegrated into just orange bits. It was perfect. I used the oranges in water and Splenda intead of in syrup since we are diabetic. Still tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My 1 1/2 year old gobbled it up. I used garlic chives instead of green onions and I used some cornstarch in the end to thicken the sauce. Oh , I used tofu instead of chicken too ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
OK, this was VERY good. With a bit of tweaking I think it will be UNBELIEVABLE. I served it over duck egg noodles--droooooool. My husband and his co-worker (our lucky guest for dinner) both raved about this meal. I doubled everything--you have to when feeding two big men--but used only four large chicken breasts. There was plenty to go around and even leftovers for lunch the next day. When the breasts were almost cooked through I used a spatula to cut them into large chunks...then continued cooking until they were nicely browned. Added a generous amount of freshly ground black pepper. I didn't have any orange juice so I just added the juice the mandarins were canned in. I also didn't have any cashews so used pecans instead. I added a can of sliced water chestnuts for some crunch...might use whole next time. Next time I will definitely use orange juice for the added flavor. And I think cashews (or almonds) are a must for the texture and flavour. Toasted of course. I will add some Chinese 5-Spice and a dash of red pepper flakes when I try this next. With the addition of broccoli and a red pepper this would be complete. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's, without a doubt, going to be a regular at our house. I'm tempted to make this again tonight but I don't have enough hoisin sauce to make a double batch...I wonder if anyone will notices if I don't share and only make enough for myself? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Family liked it. Used 1 cup OJ as some reviewers stated. Made it very orangy. Might lower to 3/4 cup next time. Let it reduce down to a nice sauce that covered the chicken. Didn't have any cashews or green onions but it still worked out. Next time I'm definitely adding onions and bell peppers because I felt it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Canada Flintridge, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Made this on Saturday, it was wonderful! I didn't have orange juice on hand, so I had to substitute apple juice. Came out great! Hubby loved and asked that it be put on regular rotation! He also requested that oranges be added at the end, which I agree, but that's just our personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was pretty good. I made for a quick lunch one day and did not have the nuts so I left them out. I added in broccoli to get in a serving of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Because I changed the recipe, I only gave it 4 stars. I omitted the oranges, since my family does not like fruit cooked with meat. I added some orange zest, doubled the amount of orange juice, and slightly reduced the sauce before adding back the chicken. We also topped it all off with chow mein noodles instead of green onions or cashews since that was all I had. Delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Excellent! will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States