Mandarin Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I didn't care for this. Although the sauce wasn't too bad, I didn't like the mandarin oranges in it. It was odd to bite into the crunchy red/green peppers that I added to the dish, and then in the next bite get a mushy, soggy orange. I much prefer the "Crispy Orange Beef" recipe found on this site. Sorry. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Great! This is the forth orange chicken recipe I've made in an attempt to get something that tastes like what you'd get at a Chinese restaurant, and this recipe is an order of magnitude better than the others. And it's so easy too. :) Following the suggestions of others to increase the sauce to chicken ratio, I used two chicken breasts (admittedly very large ones) (instead of the four called for in the recipe) and cubed them, and followed sauce recipe exactly. The amount of sauce turned out well for this quantity of chicken. Next time I might decrease the hoisin sauce a smidgen and increase the orange juice because I thought the current recipe was slightly sweeter than I'd like. (But after five bites, I didn't notice this anymore so it really is a minor complaint.) It's just ideas of how to try to tweak a practically perfect recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Wow, my husband loved it. He said it was the best meal he had all week. I did a few minor changes per other reviewers suggestions. I dredged the chicken in cornstarch instead of flour and added snow peas. Next time I would just use the mandarin oranges as a garnish right before serving. I added them too soon and they dissapated into the sauce. Tasted great, you just couldn't see them. I would also add a little garlic. This is a super easy and fast recipe making it perfect for a week night. I also served over the pecan rice (recipe found here). Super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Extremely tasty.. Both my husband and I loved it. Will make again with-out doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Very good. Both my husband and I loved it. The only change I made was to cut up the breasts after the first saute. I think this helped get the sauce all over the chicken better. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Outstanding taste for such little effort! My kind of dish. I took some reviewers' suggestions and added soy sauce and water chestnuts to the dish. I was sorry I did, because the water chestnuts overpowered the taste of the delicious mandarin oranges. Please make this recipe exactly as written for the best flavor. I sure will the next time I make it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I was so excited to try this recipe as I've been looking for an asian inspired dish for some time. Unfortunately, this just didn't do it for DH or me. We ate it, but then tossed the rest. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Delicious on my first try. A little bit of work, but not too bad. I added half of a can of green beans during the last 5-10 min of cooking and they tasted great as well. I plan to double the sauce next time to put on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Simple and tasty. A quick dish to make during the week. I used 2 breasts but made the sauce for 4 which was great to pour over white rice. Adding more vegetable as others suggested would be great too. I served it with Chinese style green beans which I picked up from Chinese take out on my way home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This recipe was very easy and delicious! I did chunk the chicken and will add vegetables such as broccoli or snow peas next time. I will also add the green onions and cashews on top as a garnish because the dish looks nicer that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States