Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Okay, here's what you need to do to perfect this recipe.... Add 1 teaspoon orange extract to the cake mix and cut the oil down to 3/4 cup. Other than those couple of things, follow the rest exactly and trust me, you will not be disappointed! I made two of these for a luncheon of 40 ladies and it was a huge hit. Several women asked me for the recipe and I was almost embarassed to let them know how easy it was! The topping is heavenly and could be used for lots of different things... maybe a big dollup on a slice of angel food cake or pound cake??? Yummy! Thanks for this wonderful recipe; I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This showpiece cake has been a favorite for more than 25 years! It makes for a particularly perfect cake for spring or summer get togethers. The way I make it varies only a bit, but may be enough of a difference to be helpful. I use a 15-1/2 oz. can of pineapple, or the equivalent if that size can is not availabe, and I combine it with the pudding mix before folding in the whipped topping. I bake this in 3 9-inch layer cake pans (layers will be thin) for 20-25 minutes, and spread the frosting between the layers and on top and sides of the cake. This makes for a very impressive presentation. Absolutely delicious, refreshing, and beautiful cake, great for birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I made this cake with Betty Crocker Super Moist butter yellow cake and I got awesome response. My sister who never asks for a recipe asked for this one. The only difference was instead of beating all the topping ingredients together I mixed the pudding and the pineapple together and completely folded in the Cool Whip so it didn't break down. Put in fridge for 3 hours before serving. Keep refrigerated and it is good for 3 days easy. Awesome cake. Plan on using often. One thing that gets me is some folks completely change the ingredients or pan size and complain that it's not awesome like those of us who follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I make this cake every Sunday for our pool party. Everyone LOVES it! I use only 3 eggs, 1/2 cup oil, and TWO cans of oranges. Sometimes I even add coconut to the whipped cream to make it more tropical! Also, I reserve 18 orange segments to arrange on the top of the cake to resemble suns and call it "Sunshine Cake". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Excellent! Duncan Hines makes an Orange cake mix which I use instead of a yellow cake. When making the frosting I mix the pineapple and dry pudding together and let it sit for a few minutes to thicken a bit. Then I gently fold in the cool whip and chill for a few hours before serving. You have to love some of these very simple recipes that taste so good and for such little effort. A family favorite and a great summery dessert. Thanks Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
YUMMMM!!! I made a few changes tho. I made a Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Yellow Cake, forgot to add the oranges to it, but made it a bundt style cake. I used a 20oz can of crushed pineapple (with juice) and 1/2 of a 10 oz can of mandarin, whipped it up in the blender. I poured that into a bowl and added vanilla pudding mix. Then I took someone elses advice and added the cool whip after everything else was mixed. (that mixture in itself is delicious!) Then, using a rubber spatula, started at the top of the bundt and spread the frosting all around in swooshy patterns. I took the remainder of mandarin oranges and spread them around the top. Then sprinkled about 2 cups of coconut all over everything. Not only did it look pretty, but the taste was outstanding! I would do it again this way in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSYD70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I've been making this for a long time under the name of "sunshine cake" or "pig lickin cake" I have a gal at work that asks for it every year for her birthday. She asks that I make it low cal/low fat for her. I use applesauce for the oil, egg beaters rather than whole eggs, fat free cool whip and sugar free pudding. She just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Made just like the recipe stated, however used two 9 inch rounds and placed topping in center. There was PLENTY of topping for the cake! For a teacher event I will dress it up a bit on the outside with toasted coconut. I like the idea of using the orange cake mix next time. I had a hard time finding just yellow! Made for two events and they were both a HIT! Love this recipe. It's easy and Yummy! We are not cake lovers here, but his is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is a great cake for spring/summer occasions but I made this for my husband's birthday with a few variations. I made this using 2 9 inch cake pans (greased and floured). For the middle layer spread a thin layer of orange marmalade and brush with pineapple juice (saved from the can you will use for the frosting. I used the drained pineapple for the frosting because the juice makes the frosting consistency too thin for my liking), repeat this on the top layer if desired. For the frosting used drained pineapple, 12 ounces of cool whip topping and the pudding. Fill and spread over entire cake, then add some chopped nuts (any kind) on the top for a really decorative touch. For best results, cover and put in the fridge overnight before serving. 5 spoons up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This cake was a hit! I made a double layer with 2 round cake pans adding some topping/frosting in between the layers. I also added coconut to the sides of the cake. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States