Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was moist and delish! I think I will follow a reviewer's suggestion and use applesauce instead of all that oil next time. I don't think it will take away from the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Young Llopis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Fantastic cake! Great for a summertime treat. I too added orange extract to both the cake and the topping. I also wanted a more "fruitful" dessert so I put more oranges (sans juice) and cut up dark cherries on top of the cake and them added the topping. Wow, it was a hit at my dinner social.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I got this recipe from my aunt about 20 years ago. She called it "Summer Cake". One bite and I think you will agree it tastes like summer on a plate. Light and cool, What could be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
All I can say is yum! You will be asked for the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Very good. Moist. I added orange extract to both cake and topping to intensify the orange flavor. My family and co-workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We had an overabunace of canned oranges, and I had no idea how to make use of them. I found this recipe, although I had to make it sheet pan size, it turned out great, very dense while remaining moist. It's important to really check if the cake is done because of the added liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious! Have made this several times, and it's become a family favorite! I've even made a sugar-free version using mandarin oranges in their own juice, sugar-free Pillsbury yellow cake mix, sugar-free instant vanilla pudding and sugar-free Cool Whip. Just as good as the original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paper_Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mindy Coen
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
All I can say is AWESOME ! I decorated with mint leaves, macadamia nuts and mint leaves... I took the advice from a couple of people here ... Didnt use the pineapple juice in the frosting which made it more thicker. and I spread a thin layer of Orange Marmalade in the center before icing and sprinkled a few nuts on the inside as well ... I would have added a bit of coconut but the person I made it for does not like it ... Next time I will add a bit to the top ... 5 star rating for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Coen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I love, love, love this one. I will try crushed pineapple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanette Stephens Wise
Home Town: Attalla, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Easy to make and very tasty! I have taken this cake to several potlucks and it doesn't last long! It might could use some more orange extract to be a little more orangy flavored - but it is very good the way it is here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States