Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I have made this cake in the past and it is fabulous! Even as a borderline chocoholic, I requested THIS for my wedding cake. It is moist and tender and fluffy and you just have to try it. A word of caution, though. You must use restraint before shoveling in too much and ruining the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Scrumptous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I have made this for a house warming and for church dinners. Everyone loves it and wants the receipe.... don't have to worry about leftovers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Yager Rauch
Home Town: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This cake was soooo good, although mine cracked and fell apart, I don't know why?? My frosting was also very loose, I even kept it in the fridge. I will have to ry again. SOON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was moist and delish! I think I will follow a reviewer's suggestion and use applesauce instead of all that oil next time. I don't think it will take away from the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Fantastic cake! Great for a summertime treat. I too added orange extract to both the cake and the topping. I also wanted a more "fruitful" dessert so I put more oranges (sans juice) and cut up dark cherries on top of the cake and them added the topping. Wow, it was a hit at my dinner social.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I got this recipe from my aunt about 20 years ago. She called it "Summer Cake". One bite and I think you will agree it tastes like summer on a plate. Light and cool, What could be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
All I can say is yum! You will be asked for the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Very good. Moist. I added orange extract to both cake and topping to intensify the orange flavor. My family and co-workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We had an overabunace of canned oranges, and I had no idea how to make use of them. I found this recipe, although I had to make it sheet pan size, it turned out great, very dense while remaining moist. It's important to really check if the cake is done because of the added liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States