Mandarin Orange Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Okay, so my stomach kinda turned as I was pouring in a whole cup of oil, but it really made it moist. I added about a cup or so of orange juice too, but the crushed pineapple and whipped cream overpower the orange flavor. Nonetheless, the cake was really good. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Love it! Made it from fresh squeezed orange juice from my tree and put three mandarin oranges in a windmill shape with a dot of whipped cream in the middle for my mom's birthday. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is good, what's not to like about cake and a yummy topping? But my problem with this cake, thus the reason for 4 stars, is that it doesn't have an orange flavor. I replaced the mandarin orange liquid, with straight orange juice and added 2 teas. of orange extract, and I still couldn't taste an orange flavor. I might as well of saved myself some money and omitted the mandarin oranges and extract, and just made the cake mix as is. I reduced oil to 1/2 cup. It tastes great, but that is because the topping is so good. Also, the topping isn't thick, so if you want a thicker icing, I would drain some of the liquid from the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This cake is so very good! I added an extra can of oranges (minus the juice) and some vanilla to the cake batter and used fresh whipped cream, rather than cool whip. I mixed the pineapple with the pudding mix and then stirred that into the fresh whipped cream. The topping came out super thick, rich, and delicious (and yes I used the juice from the can of crushed pineapple). Super moist cake. Simply yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
We've used this recipe for at least thirty years, which was given to us by an aunt. It's always been a favorite, even used for wedding cakes when my mom and sister had a cake business. It brings back many good memories, and is always a big hit at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I have made this cake in the past and it is fabulous! Even as a borderline chocoholic, I requested THIS for my wedding cake. It is moist and tender and fluffy and you just have to try it. A word of caution, though. You must use restraint before shoveling in too much and ruining the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Scrumptous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I have made this for a house warming and for church dinners. Everyone loves it and wants the receipe.... don't have to worry about leftovers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Yager Rauch
Home Town: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This cake was soooo good, although mine cracked and fell apart, I don't know why?? My frosting was also very loose, I even kept it in the fridge. I will have to ry again. SOON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States