Mandarin Orange Breakfast Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
These are great! I did go ahead and melt my butter like one reviewer suggested, and I heated the milk a bit to take the chill off - I also set the egg (still in its shell!) in very warm water prior to baking to bring it more towards room temp too. I was able to use 1/4c whole wheat flour without it affecting the muffin-y feel of this recipe at all! I don't keep almond extract in the house, so I used vanilla instead and I think either works just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
These are tasty, but there's just not much orange flavor. I even tried subbing orange juice for the milk, and adding orange zest. Not sure what else could be done to make these "orangier"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Average family vote came to 3.5 stars. My teenagers didn't care for the texture of the oranges but Hubby and I thought they were very good. The muffin batter by itself is excellent! I might suggest that if you use salted butter you might not want to add the extra salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These taste kind of like donut holes to me. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I melted the butter for these mini-muffins instead of cutting it in (when adding the melted butter, I just wisked it in with the wet ingredients and then folded the wet into the dry) and instead of almond extract, I used orange extract. I added a half teaspoon of dried orange peel into the topping for extra orange flavor. I used my mini-scoop (think cookie dough scoop) to measure out the dough into the mini-muffin tins--this made for easier assembly. I was able to fill two and a half mini muffin tins. 350 for just over ten minutes and they were ready to go. The kids thought these were great, I was realy glad I used orange extract and added a little of the dried orange peel to the topping. We all liked the little pieces of mandarin orange. This was a cute and tasty little muffin, I'd make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I would agree that they don't really taste like doughnuts but they are fantastic anyways! I added chocolate chips because I love chocolate and orange :) I also used fresh mandarin oranges, I used 6 really really small ones fairly finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These little muffins are fruity with a hint of sweet! The whole family cant wait to get their hands on the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Sad to say, these did not taste like donuts, but they were good as muffins! The only thing we would change is the butter, we tried to cut it in to the dry ingredients then cook but they came out with clumps of butter. We used big muffin pans so the time 15-20 minutes was perfect for our oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minka1340

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I'm pretty disappointed in these, these taste nothing like any donut that I have ever tasted and I have tasted many a donut. I am comparing them to Dianne's Donut muffins on this site though which is wonderful, I think I'll stick to making those instead. Also the cooking time seems off on these 15-20 minutes in a mini muffin tin is WAAAAY too long, mine were done in 10, unless you want brown rock muffins?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I wanted something different on a Sunday morning, and this hit the spot! Very nice, reminded me of a scone. Tasted awesome, and was gone the next day. Thank you for sharing! Will definantely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States