Mandarin Chicken Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Just finished dinner, with this recipe served over jasmine rice -- we loved it! My husband, and four- and two-year-old sons both devoured it. I used 2tsp of cornstarch in place of the flour, and half the amount of scallions. I didn't have OJ concentrate, so I subsituted 1/2 the water with regular orange juice. Made a wonderful sauce that was perfect atop white rice. I recommend adding the mandarins just prior to serving -- I cooked them too long, and they disintegrated. No added salt is needed, as the bullion cubes provide more than enough. This recipe would work really well with beef or shrimp, as well. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
We both enjoyed this dish, over rice as others suggested. It is very colorful and would be nice enough for a casual company meal. Easy to do some of the steps ahead (cook the chicken, broccoli, etc) so there is little to do at the last minute. Heed the advice of a previous reviewer: don't cook the mandarin oranges. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Very good and very easy. Doubled broccoli & mushrooms, used 1 1/2 lbs. chicken, cooked mushrooms more than recipe said & had to add more butter to pan when mushrooms were done. Wisked flour w/melted butter before adding 1 cup OJ(skipped concentrate & water).Added onions and broccoli same time as chick & rooms. Waited until very end to add two cans of Man. oranges (already at room temp). Just mixed & served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
Tastes great served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
Good & quite easy. Very nice over rice. A little too oniony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. It was easy and quick to prepare, but not as good as other mandarin chicken or beef I've made. I feel that the addition of canned mandarin orange slices detracted from the dish a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Easy and quick recipe for a change in chicken preparation. Instead of using the 1/3 cup of OJ concentrate and 2/3 cup water I used orange juice 100% -- and also added the drained juice from the mandarin oranges. A bit more sauce would have been desired. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Excellent flavor, not to sweet, just different enough to make it special. I don't ever use bullion cubes (MSG) so I used 2 packages of Lipton Cup-a-Soup Cream of chicken instead of the cubes and left out the flour. Take the advice of others, add the can of orange segments at the very end of the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Although this was an easy recipe, I felt it need a bit more flavor. The flavors were just too mild for my taste. It was ok, not great. The chicken didn't seem to pick up any of the flavor, Maybe season the chicken before cooking. I served it over rice. It was a very attractive dish. I really rate it 3 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Buckley Dirks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
My husband really enjoyed it. Keeps asking when will I make it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States