Mandarin Chicken Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was definitely something different. I am forever looking for new ideas for chicken, because it gets so boring. However, I feel like it was lacking something... I did not use flour. Rather, I used cornstarch (as another user suggested). I just kept adding it until it was the texture I pictured it should be (about 2 tsp). Also, to cut back on the high sodium, I only used 1/2 of a bullion cube, and it tasted fine. I did half OJ concentrate and 1/2 water instead of the measurements provided. It made the orange flavor a little stronger. I also added about a tsp of sugar. I only made 1 1/2 lbs of chicken instead of 2, and increased the broccoli and mushrooms. It made more than enough for my husband, my daughter, and I. I served it over whole grain brown rice to make it a little healthier too. I will probably try this one again...when I am out of ideas. It's easy enough to be a back-up recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklyn_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I was trying to find a similar recipe that my mom used to make, this one fit pretty well. Though, I did change a few things. I left out the bouillon and added between 2-3 tablespoons of hoisin sauce (I love that stuff) to give it a little more flavor. It's great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Well, i was in a huge hurry, so I used this recipe as a guide. I did not really measure anything but the liquid ingredients...which I increased due to other reviews. I used o.j. that was already made which made it less sweet. (my family turns their noses up at things too sweet with meat in them) I for got the green onions..darn! I did add about a 1/2 tsp or more red pepper for a bit of a bite and I cooked the chicken with a good heaping tsp of minced garlic. I did make the mistake of adding the oranges too early & they broke apart. Iwould have liked themn whole but the fam. liked it that they wer undistingishable. I will keepthis one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This dish was wonderful - only next time I'll omit the broccoli, as it combined with the orange flavouring just didn't go well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I changed a bunch of things, and my family LOVED it! Here's what I did: - Doubled the sauce - Used more (2 sm. bunches) broccoli - Omitted mushrooms (I just didn't have any) - Omitted green onions - Served over brown rice (yummy!) - The best thing I did: served it with freshly toasted sliced almonds - YUM! I had them in a small bowl and everyone sprinkled on as much as they wanted. I highly recommend them! They added a nice nutty crunch. Next time, I will either use less bouillion or a lower sodium variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
We really liked the combination of most things in this recipe even though my hubby and I thought the orange flavor was a little strong. That being said...I used orange juice instead of the water and concentrate, and I do believe the concentrate would have made it less citrusy and more sweet. I added garlic to the mushrooms. When I try this again I may use cream instead of the OJ. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Allred Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Very good and very easy. Doubled broccoli & mushrooms, used 1 1/2 lbs. chicken, cooked mushrooms more than recipe said & had to add more butter to pan when mushrooms were done. Wisked flour w/melted butter before adding 1 cup OJ(skipped concentrate & water).Added onions and broccoli same time as chick & rooms. Waited until very end to add two cans of Man. oranges (already at room temp). Just mixed & served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Easy and quick recipe for a change in chicken preparation. Instead of using the 1/3 cup of OJ concentrate and 2/3 cup water I used orange juice 100% -- and also added the drained juice from the mandarin oranges. A bit more sauce would have been desired. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Didn't care for this recipe. I put the oranges in at the last minute, but they still turned to mush. I think this dish needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
It was okay...nothing really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States