Mandarin Chicken Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This unique dish turned out really good! I did do some different things, but didn't change the recipe really. 1. I decided to double the sauce like other reviewers suggested (good call). 2. I used 15 small orange jelly beans (Starburst kind). 3. I tenderized my chicken breasts before cooking and used an electric frying pan which I used again for the sauce to save on clean up. 4. I used finely chopped white onion instead of green. 5. I didn't take the jelly beans out and didn't garnish with any more either. 6. Didn't have any ginger root, so I sprinkled in some ground ginger. If you don't have any jelly beans, I'm sure orange marmalade would work out too, maybe even try lemon or lime jelly beans? It was a bit spicy, so if you have kids who wouldn't go for that, reduce or omit the crushed pepper and ginger. I served this with rice and sweet potatoes for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I was a little bit wary of the jelly bean idea, but this turned out wonderful. I used ten large jelly beans, but once the outside was dissolved in the sauce, I took them out, because I thought the extra sugar wasn't really needed. I like a thicker sauce, so I added a tsp of cornstarch dissolved in a tablespoon of water after the sauce was almost done simmering. We like things spicy, so I doubled the red pepper. I also doubled the sauce, as some of the other reviewers suggested, and I still wanted more! Next time I'll triple it :) A very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Great and simple recipe. As suggested by someone else I added aprox 1 tsp of cornstarch dissolved in water at the end of the cook time to make a thicker sauce. Other than that, followed the recipe to a T. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was interesting and enjoyable! I doubled the sauce and it was just enough (barely). I added a can of mandarin oranges at the end to give the dish some more freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
Great sauce, but I wanted more of it! Next time I will double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Great recipe. My husband will never order any kind of orange chicken, but he loved this. I cut the chicken into strips and coated with flour before cooking. Also, I didn't have any jelly beans so I used 1 tablespoon of orange marmalade instead. I also added sugar snap peas and garnished with mandarin oranges. I also took the advice of the previous reviewer and doubled the sauce. This went great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This is not as orange tasting as I had hoped even though I used the jellybelly jelly beans and left them in the sauce as another reviewer suggested. I also agree with everyone else....double up on the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe- the second time. I only say that because all the ingredients are not cheap- but great tasting chicken and once you have all the oils you're set! Love the jelly bean part! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States