Mandarin Almond Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I've made this salad for years, only with tarragon vinegar and some dried tarragon in the dressing instead of red wine vinegar. It's always a hit with my dinner guests, and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Hmm. Nice concept, but as others have mentioned, the dressing really needs some work. I made the dressing as stated in the recipe, except I used only 1/4 cup of olive oil. I could hardly taste anything, so I took out my list of things that other reviewers have recommended, adding one at a time and then tasting -- About a tsp. of Dijon, followed by 2 T. of juice from the oranges and then finally a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. Better, but definitely nothing to write home about and still lacking that certain something. Again, I like the concept of this and it could be a really nice side salad. (We had it with Peanut Butter Noodles with some chicken from this site.) Also, we just toasted the almonds and skipped sugaring them and I'm glad we did it that way. I will try again and work on the dressing a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Used conbination of romaine and butter lettuce and reduced the onion a bit. Everything else I left alone. Excellent, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Sorry, but the way it is this recipe deserves only 3 stars. The salad was good, but the dressing was very, very bland. I added some Dijon and it turned much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Very good- the sugared almonds really make this. Because some of the other reviewers commented on the dressing, I added a little extra sugar and a tablespoon of orange juice concentrate (I had already drained the mandarin oranges). Overall, the dressing still wasn't my favorite but it turned out pretty well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This is so good! I've made it several times and every time it's a hit. I usually make it as written, but lately I've been substituting half the vinegar for mandarin orange juice from the can. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is a very easy, tasty salad. I loved the mixture of flavors. The dressing could use a little work; I found it to be somewhat bland and not all that exciting. All in all, it is a yummy salad; I will probably make it again with a different dressing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Great salad, made it for friends, they loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Nothing fancy but good. I'm still trying to think of what else to add. Kinda seems likes it missing something, can't put my finger on it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is a family favorite... Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States