Mandarin Almond Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Love the flavor combo but I think I will cut down on the amount of oil next time (perhaps cut it in half). Otherwise, really good salad and well received by others. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
really good i subbed red onion for the green and the pepper flakes is the exact amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Not a fan of the dressing. Will use the idea of almond mandarin salad but with a different dressing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I made this for Mother's day everyone seemed to like it, I left out the onions and used chili powder instead of crushed pepper flakes, made the almonds and dressing the night before. Will make again, used 2 bags of salad spring mix and buttered lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Excellent salad and very easy! I've made this a couple of times, exactly as is and with a few modifications. Exactly as is is great. Like other reviewers have said, you have to watch the almond/sugar mixture very closely. I've made changes also by using less olive oil, by subbing out some of the olive oil with sesame oil, and by using rice vinegar in place of some of the red wine vinegar. All of these changes worked great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Yummy salad! The candied almonds really make this salad extra delicous! Served this salad at a bridal shower and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Simple and light! The sugared almonds are delicious. I used finely diced red onion in place of the green onions, worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
LOVE this salad! Get raves about it whenever I serve it. So pretty, so easy. You can add more lettuce & other things for the amt of dressing here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is my husbands favorite salad, my grandma taught me to make it years ago. I make a few changes, I add half iceberg and half romaine for volume. A bit of fresh parsley for a freshness. I also use a bit more sugar in the dressing, and a dash of Tabasco for bite. Guests beg me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Had to do a little changing as I was out of mandarin oranges. since we have an orange tree I was able to pick an orange for the salad. Dressing looked like it was too much for the one head of romaine. used only about a 1/4 cup to a 1/2 cup for the whole salad. Very good flavors. Looking forward to seeing how the left overs will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States